Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services during COVID-19: HOME

Library Services Support for MSMU Remote Instruction Period

Welcome!

JUMP TO... ANNOUNCEMENTS

GET HELP

FIND MATERIALS

USEFUL LINKS

REQUESTS

STUDY ROOMS

SUMMER 2021:

UPDATE:

We are doing some data cleanup with our library catalog, if you receive an overdue notice, do not worry, we will not be charging any fines.

Also, if you have trouble renewing your materials, please contact circdesk@msmu.edu and they will help you renew them on your account.

 

We are OPEN VIRTUALLY and partially IN-PERSON! 

May 17th - June 17th 

Starting Monday, May 17th, 2021, McCarthy Library (Doheny Campus) will be open with the following schedule:

Update - Closed Saturdays (not Sundays)

  • Sunday-Friday: 10am - 6pm (you will still need an appointment to be on campus)

  • Saturdays: Closed (study room reservations & pick up appointments still available) 

Appointments for study rooms and item pick-up continue to be available at both campuses.

 

If you have any questions, please contact:

library@msmu.edu

Please stay healthy and safe!

-- Your MSMU Librarians

This page last updated: 6/11/2021

GET HELP

Make an Appointment

Make a Zoom Appointment
Book an online research consultation via Zoom with one of your MSMU librarians!

 

email us

Email Us - library@msmu.edu 
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.

 

JUMP TO...
HELP FOR FACULTY

STUDY ROOMS

Study Room Instructions

  1. STOP! Before you select a time, you must complete the required COVID training module. (Log in with your Mount credentials)
  2. You must reserve your slot at least 2 days (48 hours) ahead of time.
  3. If you have already completed the module, go ahead and select a time slot and submit a reservation. (Available up to 2 weeks in advance.)
  4. IMPORTANT! Check your email and click the confirmation link to confirm your reservation within 1 day.
  5. To cancel a reservation, use the link provided in your confirmation email.
  6. Leave your room in good order for the next person.

JUMP TO... STUDY ROOM FAQs

 

Book a Study Room

USEFUL LINKS

Quick Search Logo

Search MSMU Libraries for articles, books, and more

 

COVID-19 Research Guide

Popular Research Guides

Popular Subject Guides

All Subject Guides

 

How-To Guides

 

Popular Topic Guides

FIND MATERIALS

eBooks

Find eBooks

eBook Requests 

Lending of physical print materials is very limited. We encourage you to find online and electronic resources available through the MSMU Libraries Catalog, Quick Search, and Databases A-Z. If you need help finding materials please email library@msmu.edu or make an appointment with a librarian.

If you need a specific book, we can try to locate and purchase the eBook version for you. Please use the eBook Request (Suggest a Purchase)  form below.

Articles

Find Articles

As always, you can use Quick Search and Databases A-Z to search for articles. Make a Zoom appointment with a librarian if you need help!

Article Requests

For articles that we don't have immediate access to, please fill out an Article Request (Document Delivery) form, or use the individual databases to request access.

Physical Books & Items

Physical Book & Item Requests
 

MSMU Libraries Materials

We have very limited print circulation. We encourage you to find online and electronic resources available through the MSMU Libraries Catalog, Quick Search, and Databases A-Z. If you need help finding appropriate or alternative materials please email library@msmu.edu or make an appointment with a librarian.
 

LINK+

LINK+ requests are now available again. Visit the LINK+ catalog to find titles. Place a request through the LINK+ catalog, and make sure to select the campus from which you want to pick up the book. When you have received a confirmation notice that your book is on the hold shelf and available for pick-up, THEN schedule an Item Pick-up Appointment. You can contact circdesk@msmu.edu with any questions about LINK+.
 

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

ILL operations are also available. We may be able to locate some books and other items from WorldCat, but please be advised that many institutions are still not currently lending, and the items may take additional time to reach you. Contact illcc@msmu.edu with questions about interlibrary loans.
 

General Item Questions?
Contact: circdesk@msmu.edu 

Renew Books

Renew Your Books

You can renew any books you have checked out by visiting My Account and renewing items that way.

You may not be able to renew LINK+ items more than once. If you need to renew your LINK+ items please contact circdesk@msmu.edu and we may be able to renew them for you.

All Fines Waived

The MSMU Libraries will be waiving all overdue fines incurred during this time, including for items from LINK+ and ILL. You may still receive emails stating that your book is overdue, but rest assured we will waive the fines! 

Returning Books & Items

If you have books or other items checked out, please contact circdesk@msmu.edu to discuss how to return these materials.

LINK+ Items



LINK+ Item Requests

LINK+ requests are now available again.

  • Visit the LINK+ catalog to find titles.
  • Place a request through the LINK+ catalog, and make sure to select the campus from which you want to pick up the book.
  • When you have received a confirmation notice that your book is on the hold shelf and available for pick-up, THEN schedule an Item Pick-up Appointment.
  • You can contact circdesk@msmu.edu with any questions about LINK+.

ITEM PICKUP APPOINTMENTS

How to Make an Item Pickup Appointment

What can I request right now?


FIRST, PLACE A HOLD!  Visit the MSMU Libraries Catalog to place a HOLD on your item and select a pickup location.

MSMU Libraries Materials: HOLD & Location Pickup Instructions

MSMU library users may put materials on HOLD using the online catalog. Books may be sent to either campus. Reference, Reserves and Special Collections material may not be put on HOLD and must be used inside the library. Email circdesk@msmu.edu if you have any questions about library-use-only materials.

How to:

  1. Log in to My Library Account.
  2. Click on the New Search button.
  3. Search for books by author, subject, title, etc. or create an advanced keyword search including limits to material type, language, publication year, etc.
  4. Click on the title of the book that you want. Note that if the book's status says Due MM/DD/YY,  there will be a delay before the book arrives.
  5. Click the Request button.
  6. Choose a Pick-Up Location and a Cancel-By date. Then, click submit.
  7. When the book arrives at its destination, you should receive an email.
  8. It takes approximately 2-3 days to send books between campuses, so please plan accordingly!

THEN, Book your Item Pickup Appointment

Visit: LibCal - All Spaces and make sure to select an Item Pickup Appointment for the SAME CAMPUS that you SENT YOUR HOLD to.

This appointment reserves a 15-minute time slot for you to pick up your requested items.

  • You may make an Item Pickup Appointment AFTER receiving confirmation that your items have been processed and are waiting for you on the hold shelf at the location you have selected.
  • If you miss your Item Pickup Appointment you may schedule another for the same day. Please email circdesk@msmu.edu to schedule another appointment.
  • The last appointment of the day can be made for 1:45 pm.

MSMU Libraries Items

  1. First, you need to place a HOLD on your item in the catalog. Visit the MSMU Libraries Catalog to place a HOLD on your item and select a pickup location.
  2. Wait to receive your HOLD confirmation email telling you that your book is available for pickup.
  3. Then, make an appointment for your pickup.

LINK+ Items 

  1. First, you need to request an item through LINK+. Visit LINK+ to request material and select a pickup location.
  2. Wait to receive your LINK+ confirmation email telling you that your book is available for pickup.
  3. Then, make an appointment for your pickup.

Help for Faculty & Instructors


We can help you:

  • Find alternate course materials
  • Develop alternate assignments using online library resources
  • Publish a course guide
  • Support instruction, as well as library instruction

Contact: 
library@msmu.edu with any questions or requests

MSMU Guides for Faculty

Extended & Complimentary Resources

These resources have been extended by various library database vendors for complimentary use due to COVID-19.

FAQ for Faculty


Library FAQ for Faculty

Q: I want to add online library resources in my Canvas course, how do I do this?

A: Visit this library guide (Library Resource Integration for Faculty) and follow step-by-step instructions using a link resolver to embed course materials available through the library, directly into Canvas. This includes instructions for eBooks, individual articles, databases, and Kanopy videos.

 

Q: How can I find streaming videos or audio that could be helpful for my online courses?

A: The library subscribes to Kanopy, and you can easily embed Kanopy videos directly into your courses. On our website we also have a list of great places to find streaming audio that you may want your students to listen to.

 

Q: I need to request a book via LINK+ or Interlibrary Loan (ILL) during campus and library closures, what should I do?

A:  Please submit a “Suggest a Purchase” form and we will try to locate and purchase an eBook version of the book you are seeking. For books not available electronically, as well as older and rarer materials, we may be able to locate them via ILL and arrange a pickup appointment for you.

 

Q: I need to cancel my in-person library instruction session for my class, can I reschedule another session online?

A: Yes! Some activities may need to be modified, but librarians are available to lead instruction sessions via Zoom. You can fill out a Library Instruction Request from and select “Online – Zoom session” or email library@msmu.edu with any questions.

 

Study Room FAQ

Study Room FAQs

IMPORTANT:

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, this booking is for you and you alone.

Room Reservation Guidelines

  • Reservations times during partial campus reopening are available 3-hour blocks only.
  • Rooms may be reserved for use only during the allotted times.

How do I cancel?

To cancel a reservation, use the cancellation link provided in your library study room booking confirmation email.

What are my responsibilities while in the room?

  • Students must be prepared to vacate rooms at the end of the reserved time - the cleaning staff will need to access the space to clean without anyone else present.
  • Please deposit used markers and erasers in the "USED" basket, so that staff may clean them in between each room use.
  • Students are responsible for the room and its contents.
  • Never leave belongings unattended in study rooms, the MSMU Libraries are not responsible for personal belongings. Any unattended items will be retrieved and held by MSMU Security.
  • Rooms must be left in good condition for the next person; please erase the whiteboard and dispose of trash.
  • Study rooms are not soundproof; please be considerate of other patrons - do not play loud music or videos without headphones.
  • All patrons are expected to familiarize themselves with these policies.
  • Failure to comply with the above policies may result in the suspension of library study room privileges.
  • Maximum room capacity is determined by fire and safety regulations and may not be exceeded at any time.

Are the rooms cleaned?

  • Rooms are cleaned after each booking between 11am-12pm, 3-4pm, and again after 7pm. - All surfaces and supplies are wiped down and sanitized.
  • Reminder: Please deposit used markers and erasers in the "USED" basket, so that staff may clean them in between each room use.
  • Reminder: Students must be prepared to vacate rooms at the end of the reserved time - the cleaning staff will need to access the space to clean without anyone else present.

Getting to Campus FAQs 

Will I need to pay for parking?

Yes, permits are required to park in MSMU lots. There are two options for parking on campus: 1. Daily parking $5/day – Payable in CASH ONLY at the Campus Security gates. Please bring exact change. 2. Prorated parking permit $94 – This prorated parking permit is valid through Summer 2021. Contact permitparking@msmu.edu to secure your parking permit.

Will the MSMU Shuttle be available?

Yes, the shuttle is available for Chalon to Doheny (vice versa) transport. Your MSMU ID, a face covering, and an “APPROVED” health screen status are required to board the shuttle. Service is for current faculty, staff, students, and CSJ Sisters and requires reservations 24-hours in advance. Visit Transportation & Parking for the shuttle schedule.

Do I need to complete the COVID-19 modules before making a reservation or before coming to campus?

COVID-19 modules must be completed before making a reserveration. Your reservation will be canceled if you have not completed your COVID-19 modules in EVERFI.

Can I go to other areas on campus?

You may use Campus Dining while on campus. All other areas are by reservation only. You may not access the residence halls and classroom buildings. If you reserve an outdoor space, you will receive information for the nearest restrooms.

What if I am late for my reservation?

You may still access the space if your reservation time has not expired. You cannot extend your reservation time. Once your reservation time expires, you must leave the space to allow time for cleaning before the next reservation.

What if I need to cancel my reservation?

These support services are limited and require advanced planning. Please try to avoid missing appointments and last-minute cancellations. If you must cancel, use the reservation link or the contact person listed to cancel reservations.