An extensive collection of journals and books in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Data Mining: Requires personal account / self-registration
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. For best results, please click the button with the MSMU Libraries Logo on the right side of the screen (under Full Text Links) to connect with MSMU's subscribed content or request articles via Interlibrary Loan.
Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM) located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Creating a myNCBI account is recommended.
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.
NOTE: It searches most, but not all of the libraries’ subscription databases as well as some open access content. Use your MSMU credentials to access Quick Search from off campus.
Quick Search is built on the product EBSCO Discovery Service.
MSMU login credentials needed to use UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored resource that provides clinical decision support by delivering the most recent medical information and evidence-based recommendations from physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers. Access the UpToDate Mobile App
Includes access to UpToDate Pathways, an interactive guide to making clinical decisions, Lab Interpretations, useful for understanding abnormal lab results and Emmi, which includes patient education videos that are also useful for nursing instruction.
Current MSMU students, staff and faculty: Requires personal account / self-registration
A cross-searchable collection of periodical articles, essays and reference material covering historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. The Black Studies Center combines resources such as The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the 19th century to the present.
Includes primary source material on the study of women’s suffrage; the feminist movement; the men’s movement, the workplace; education; the body; conduct and politeness; and domesticity and the family from a gendered perspective.
The collection includes records from men’s and women’s organizations and pressure groups, advice literature and etiquette books, and personal diaries and correspondence. Also includes visual material such as photographs, illustrations, posters, scrapbooks, and objects.
Includes original manuscript and rare printed material, dating back to 1490. Topics include slavery in America, slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.