Library News

75 Things You Can Do in the MSMU Libraries

In celebration of Charles Willard Coe Memorial Library's 75th Anniversary, please enjoy these 75 Things you can do in the Libraries!

STUDY  

1. Reserve a study room 

2. Stretch your legs at a standing desk 

3. Consult with a librarian on Zoom 

4. Check out a course textbook 

5. Use a desktop computer 

6. Print, scan, or photocopy 

7. Read and relax in a comfy chair 

8. Take a nap on the basement couches 

9. See the Getty Museum lit up at night 

10. Fill your water bottle with cold, filtered water 

11. Work late at night in a 24-hour study room 

12. Take a break to work on a puzzle 

RESEARCH  

13. Learn how to use Google Scholar 

14. Get one-on-one help from a librarian 

15. Locate the Research Guide for your major 

16. Learn how to cite your sources 

17. Borrow books from other libraries  

18. Sign up for a free Wall Street Journal account 

19. Get help figuring out a topic for your paper 

20. Bookmark a list of resources for foster youth in college 

21. Find out how to spot fake news 

22. Learn how to use Zotero 

23. Request articles for free 

24. Look up mental health diagnoses in the DSM-5 

25. Explore repositories of open research data 

26. Find digitized primary sources on gender and women’s issues 

27. Learn how to find peer-reviewed articles  

MAKE  

28. Be creative on the Community Board 

29. Learn how to use a laser cutter 

30. Print on a 3D printer 

31. Find something to perform in our music scores collection 

32. Create a tote bag, mug, or T-shirt 

33. Design & make a button 

34. Charge your devices using the charging stands  

35. Design and make a zine 

36. Take a library workshop 

37. Get a free bookmark from the circulation desk 

38. Learn how to solve a Rubik’s Cube 

39. Find databases of free audio files 

40. Learn how to make origami 

41. Color a page from a coloring book 

42. Use old magazines to make an affirmation poster 

READ  

43. Browse 40,000+ Spanish language eBooks and eJournals 

44. Join the MSMU Libraries Book Club  

45. Check out a popular fiction book 

46. Read the Harvard Business Review 

47. Get eBooks downloadable to your eReader 

48. Download Flipster for new, full color magazines 

49. Check out a children’s book 

50. Explore the LGBTQ+ Rights Collection in HeinOnline database 

51. Browse the Graphic Novel collection 

52. Find current books in our Bestseller Collection 

53. Check out as many books as you wish! 

54. Discover a favorite poem from the Poetry collection 

55. Suggest a book purchase in our suggestion box  

56. Read a professional magazine like Psychology Today 

57. Check out the Campus Read  

58. Finish a manga series 

59. Read a thesis written by a CSJ 

EXPLORE 

60. See vintage sorority scrapbooks and photos in the Archives 

61. Take a library tour 

62. See old photos of the campus 

63. Explore some of our beautiful, intact and older print book bindings  

64. Check out or read a book published in 1890 

65. Follow the @msmulibraries Instagram 

66. Check out the seasonal displays and celebrations 

67. Sign up for Kanopy and watch hundreds of streaming videos 

68. Participate in Welcome Week games and activities! 

69. Look at Mount yearbooks from the 1950’s  

70. Explore articles from African American newspapers dating back to 1826 

71. Say ‘hi’ to our friendly student workers! 

72. Apply for a job in the library 

73. Explore MSMU digital archives in JSTOR 

74. Access foreign-language films 

75. Enjoy mints!