Beginning a research project can sometimes be a daunting task since there is so much information available. Starting your search with Credo connects you with an overview of the topic as well as concepts, additional keywords and links to other databases in MSMU's collection that offer peer-reviewed articles or scholarly books.
The subject encyclopedias and reference works are electronic versions of published books with clear and succinct information about a topic. These articles are usually more scholarly than Wikipedia and include lists of works cited at the end of the articles. They can be helpful when you are still developing your research question or are interested in understanding a particular event in history or learning about a specific person.
When you search for a topic on the home page search bar, the results page will include a list of reference articles in Credo's collection on the left and a concept map (or mind map) of related terms and how they connect to your initial search term. Clicking on the concepts will create a new search and provide new results.
Each article in Credo can be shared with others (classmates, professors, etc.), cited in a variety of formats (APA, MLA), translated into various languages and read aloud (for auditory learners).
Another great feature is the "More Library Resources" link from the results page. Each page is divided into Articles (in Credo), Images and More Library Resources.
Choose "More Library Resources" for a list of some articles in other MSMU databases (such as ProQuest, JSTOR and Gale).
Click on the title of an article to see it. Then, once you are in the database, you can narrow your search to full text or peer-reviewed or certain publication dates. Clicking "See all results" will take you to the list of search results from that database.
And, on the home page, check out the Research Quick Tips, which offer short videos on topics such as selecting sources, paraphrasing and synthesizing research.
For a brief introduction to Credo Reference, check out this tutorial and then check out the database!
And, don't forget to register for our webinar on November 9 at 12 noon!
0 Comments.