Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library News

Mental Health Awareness Month

by Samantha Silver on 2022-05-04T08:33:00-07:00 in Multi-Subject, Psychology | Comments

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and, especially during this post-pandemic era - not to mention Finals Week, it is important to recognize and support our mental health and recognize signs that self care techniques are needed.

Databases can help with this goal.  For example, check out this article from Firsthand about maintaining mindfulness and dealing with stress at work.  Firsthand is a premier resource for finding career information and you can even login with a LinkedIn account!

Gale Health and Wellness is also a good place to find mental health resources.  On the main home page, scroll down to browse topics. 

Gale topics on Health and Wellness home page

Only the three most recently updated topics are shown.  So, clicking on the topic with the number next to it will bring you to a complete list.

Screen Time - a collection of resources from Gale Health and Wellness including journal articles, reference works, images and videos

Then, you may select any mental health topic of interest.  Each page contains a brief overview of the topic followed by links to reference articles, peer reviewed content, videos and images.  Gale is a comprehensive resource and can help you build a foundation of knowledge on a chosen mental health topic.

For academic journals, your best bets are in the EBSCO Psychology Collections, which includes content from APA PsycArticles, etc.  This is a great resource if you're working on a research paper or capstone project and need a plethora of peer reviewed journals.

Search by subject in EBSCO Psychology collections by using the APA thesaurus.

Instead of typing key words, try clicking the Subject option in the toolbar at the top of the page.  Then, select either the APA or Psychology and Behavioral Sciences thesauri and find out how your potential search terms are indexed in the databases.  This is a more focused search methodology and may produce fewer articles but they may be more to the point.

Finally, check the libraries' print and electronic magazine collections for mental health resources.  In our print collection at the McCarthy Library, we have current issues of Breathe and Real Simple, which include articles on meditation and other stress reducing activities.  In our online collection, we have current issues of Prevention and Yoga Journal.  Flipster magazines are also available in a mobile app, so you can read these magazines anywhere and anytime.

And, in the McCarthy Library, enjoy the wellness "hallway display" where you can find books to read and coloring pages with which to de-stress. . .

Enjoy exploring Mental Health resources this month!


 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Instagram
  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...