Make an Appointment
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu
If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.
To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.
ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.
To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.
A great place to begin a research project - particularly when honing in on a focused topic - is Gale Literature. Gale Literature finds literary criticism as well as biographical information, genre overviews and literary work overviews. Primary sources abound, too. Be sure to check out the topic finder, where you can build a topic based on keywords and see a visualization of the topic's progression.
Once you find some interesting articles in Gale Literature, save them in pdf format and go to JSTOR Text Analyzer. WIth this unique tool, you can upload a document. Then, JSTOR scans the article for key terms, people, locations, subjects and dates and provides the results alongside an interactive search interface. You may remove and add terms as needed and see the search results change in real time.
OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
Academic encyclopedia and dictionary entries defining and introducing topics in all disciplines. Entries include images, topics, titles, and mind maps.
Simultaneously searches , Gale LitFinder, Something About the Author and Gale eBooks. Provides access to full-text literary works (novels, plays, poetry and short stories), author biographies, literary movement information, literary work overviews and more.
Includes 500,000 primary texts 1,200 scholarly journals and thousands of ebooks and reference works. It also includes 1,300 video and audio recordings and the full text of 14,000 dissertations. ProQuest One Literature provides rare diverse primary sources as well as curated author/movement pages to help contextualize literary studies.
Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the MLA International Bibliography is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film, covering scholarly publications from the early 20th century to the present. International in scope, it includes citations to journal articles, books, articles in books, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations, with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. The database also includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals and the MLA Thesaurus, a proprietary, searchable collection of thousands of subject terms, and personal names used in indexing the bibliography
