In this course guide, one will find links to the full text and/or catalog record of plays. One will also find audio versions from the LA Theatre Works library or filmed versions of the plays. Resources include reference works about twentieth century American drama and databases containing articles, essays and interviews with playwrights.
Includes 500,000 primary texts 1,200 scholarly journals and thousands of ebooks and reference works. It also includes 1,300 video and audio recordings and the full text of 14,000 dissertations. ProQuest One Literature provides rare diverse primary sources as well as curated author/movement pages to help contextualize literary studies.
Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)
A Companion to Twentieth-Century American Drama by
This Companion provides an original and authoritative survey of twentieth-century American drama studies, written by some of the best scholars and critics in the field. Balances consideration of canonical material with discussion of works by previously marginalized playwrights Includes studies of leading dramatists, such as Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, Eugene O'Neill and Gertrude Stein Allows readers to make new links between particular plays and playwrights Examines the movements that framed the century, such as the Harlem Renaissance, lesbian and gay drama, and the solo performances of the 1980s and 1990s Situates American drama within larger discussions about American ideas and culture
Modern American Drama, 1945-2000 by
Surveys major authors who shaped postwar American drama, such as Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, Edward Albee, David Mamet, and Sam Shepard,
Cambridge Companion to American Modernism by
This volume provides an authoritative overview of the achievements of American literary modernism in its social and cultural contexts. A chronology of key events is offered, and an up-to-date bibliography of further reading.
The Bedford Handbook by Best viewed in a smaller screen as the video quality is not great. But, the audio is okay and has closed captioning available.
Long Day's Journey into Night by 
A Streetcar Named Desire by Critics' choice; New York Drama Critics' Circle prize plays, 1935-55. by The American dream, and The zoo story; two plays. by 
The Clean House and Other Plays by
"Passionate. Show-stopping. Daringly over-the-top and impressively consistent in its delirious excess. The Clean House shines."--New Haven Advocate "The Clean House is not, by any means, a traditional boy-meets-girl story. In fact disease, death, and dirt are among the subjects it addresses. This comedy is romantic, deeply so, but in the more arcane sense of the word: visionary, tinged with fantasy, extravagant in feeling, maybe a little nuts."--The New York Times "Touching, inventive, invigoratingly compact, and luminously liquid, Eurydice reframes the ancient myth of ill-fated love to focus not on the bereaved musician but on his dead bride--and on her struggle with love beyond the grave."--San Francisco Chronicle This volume is the first publication of Sarah Ruhl, "a playwright with a unique comic voice, perspective, and sense of theater" (Variety), who is fast leaving her mark on the American stage. In the award-winning Clean House--a play of uncommon romance and uncommon comedy--a maid who hates cleaning dreams about creating the perfect joke, while a doctor who treats cancer leaves his heart inside one of his patients. This volume also includes Eurydice, Ruhl's reinvention of the tragic Greek tale of love and loss, together with a third play still to be named. Sarah Ruhl received the prestigious Susan Smith Blackburn Prize in 2004 for her play The Clean House, which has been produced at Yale Repertory Theatre in New Haven, Wilma Theatre in Philadelphia, South Coast Repertory Theatre in Costa Mesa, and Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company in Washington, DC. Her play Eurydice has been produced at Madison Repertory Theatre and Berkeley Repertory Theatre.
