Research Guides: Find eBooks: Home

eBook Subscription Databases

Ebook Central (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
A large selection of multidisciplinary eBook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter. Includes course texts and patron requested books.
Downloading books requires Adobe Digital Editions.. Some PDF downloading and/or printing is permitted.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Academic encyclopedia and dictionary entries defining and introducing topics in all disciplines. Entries include images, topics, titles, and mind maps.
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Digitalia Hispanica This link opens in a new window
Requires Adobe Digital Editions to download eBooks. You must create a (free) personal Digitalia account in order to download eBooks.

Printing is limited to ~10 pages per session.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of Greek and Latin texts with English translations. Greek and Latin literature: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians.
The Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.
OVID This link opens in a new window

Accessibility Mode for eBooks

Some of the MSMU Library's books are accessible via screen reader.

In order to use accessibility mode, you must have a personal account with the database (i.e. ProQuest eBook Central). The account is free. Just log in via the Database on the Databases A-Z page and click login (usually in the right corner of the screen).

For eBook Central, login and click on settings > profile.

Then, turn on accessibility mode. You may also enable the OpenDyslexic typeface.

Make sure to click "save changes."

Troubleshooting

Tips for troubleshooting eBook download issues:

Sharing urls Where to find direct urls for e-resources in MSMU Library's subscription databases

How to access eBooks in each platform

ProQuest Ebook Central Books

ProQuest books may be read online in your browser
ProQuest books may be downloaded to your computer for a total of 14 days
To download books, login to ProQuest Ebook Central (after you connect to their website through the MSMU link) by clicking the "sign on" in the upper right corner of the screen. You should be prompted to login with your myMSMU credentials.
Then, download Adobe Digital Editions, if you not already have it installed.

EBSCO eBooks

FAQ for EBSCO eBooks
EBSCO eBooks may be read online in your browser or downloaded to your computer
Just click the book's link from our MSMU catalog or the EBSCO eBooks page
You may print (or save as a pdf file) up to 60 pages at a time [depending on the publisher]
You may also login to EBSCO with your myMSMU credentials & save books to a folder so you access your books another time
Make sure that you have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer / device.

Springer eBooks

Springer eBooks may be downloaded as DRM-free pdf files in their entirety or as separate chapters
This downloading feature is for only one person and you will not be able to share the file with others
Each person must download their own copy of these books

Wiley eBooks

Wiley eBooks may be downloaded by chapters as pdf files for reading in your browser, printing, or saving
Each file is meant for the eyes of the person downloading it and cannot legally be shared with another person
Each person must download their own copy of these books

Digitalia eBooks

Digitalia eBooks are viewable in a pdf reader. Books may be viewed in Acrobat or downloaded (for a limited amount of time) as Digital Editions files.
To save files, select "print" from the left menu and print it to a pdf creator. Note - printing is limited to ~10 pages per session.
These books are also available in audio format

Loeb Classics

Books from the Loeb Classical Library may be viewed in any web browser
Books may be viewed as a two-page spread (for Latin and Greek books, this shows the Latin/Greek on one side and English on the other)
Printing (and saving) is on a page by page basis; you may not print multiple pages at the same time

How to Access eBooks - Briefly

Find Books & eBooks

Advanced Search Google Scholar WorldCat

If you don't find the book that you want in Quick Search try searching in WorldCat. Please fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.

Search for an item in libraries near you:

Search for eBooks in:

OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:

Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.

Open Access eBooks

How to Access eBooks in Each Platform

Free eBook Collections

Project Gutenberg
42,000 or more out-of-copyright books
MIT Shakespere
Complete works of Shakespeare online
HathiTrust
a searchable database of online books and scholarly articles. Includes primary sources material
Directory of Open Access Books
A directory of academic, peer reviewed open access books
Google Books
Previews and/or full-text of books. They are readable online, but don't print optimally.
Internet Archive - ebooks
Open Library
An Internet Archive project. Requires a (free) IA login to borrow books.
Early English Books Online (via University of Michigan)
Early English Books Online (via Bodleian Library))

eBook ILL Requests

If the book you need is not available in the physical or digital library, you can request it from Interlibrary Loan Services.

Please note that ebooks cannot be borrowed in their entirety from other libraries due to license restrictions. If you need one or two chapters, we can request copies. However, if you need the entire book, we are happy to order electronic or print copies for the MSMU collection, depending upon availability in the marketplace.

Find eBooks

ASK US!