Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
If you don't find the book that you want in Quick Search try searching in WorldCat. Please fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.
OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:
Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.
Open Access eBooks
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 30,000 films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, A24 and many more.
Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming service that has a broad collection of over 30,000 full-length films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, Samuel Goldwyn, PBS, and more.
Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device, or platform by visiting msmu.kanopy.com or downloading the Kanopy app.
Please help us keep costs down by exiting out of a film quickly if you don't plan to watch it. After 30 seconds of viewing, the license triggers.
If you create a Kanopy account with your MSMU credentials, you will be able to:
Kanopy has many titles of unique educational, social, and cultural value. Enjoy!
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 10/31/2025
Licensed through 6/30/2025
Licensed though 5/31/2026
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 1/10/2025
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through July 31, 2025
Licensed through 7/27/2025
Licensed through 7/27/2025
Licensed through 6/30/2025
Licensed perpetually
Licensed through 10/31/2024
Licensed through 6/30/2025
Licensed through 5/31/2026
Licensed through 7/31/2025
Licensed through 6/30/2024
Licensed perpetually
Licensed through 10/31/2024
Licensed through 12/31/2024
Licensed through 10/31/2024
Licensed through 10/12/2071
Licensed through 6/30/2025
Browse the MSMU stacks for books:
C (General History)
D (European, Asia, Africa, Oceania History)
E-F (American History)
Browse your local public library stacks for books:
900 World History
910 Geography and travel
920 Biography, genealogy, insignia
930 History of the ancient world
940 General history of Europe
950 General history of Asia, Far East
960 General history of Africa
970 General history of North America
980 General history of South America
990 General history of other areas
Call Number: BJ1500.M47 K45
ISBN: 9780801451225
Publication Date: 2013-01-15
Call Number: E178.Z75
ISBN: 9780060838652
Publication Date: 2005-08-02
Call Number: HQ 1075.5 U6 S39
ISBN: 0814797628
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Call Number: HQ1121.W88585
ISBN: 0252071832
Publication Date: 2004-09-10
Call Number: QC903.B76
ISBN: 9780521871648
Publication Date: 2014-03-17
These resources are great for fact-checking, quick and basic information, and topic overviews. They can also be a great place to start when researching a new topic that you are not familiar with. Finding basic information on a topic can help you understand what to look for in more advanced searches.
Academic encyclopedia and dictionary entries defining and introducing topics in all disciplines. Entries include images, topics, titles, and mind maps.
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
Online reference materials spanning 25 diverse subject areas. Includes entries from the Oxford University Press Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias, and Oxford Reference series.
