Women at the Border : Los Angeles - Tijuana

Association for Borderlands Studies

• Association for Borderlands Studies | Association for Borderlands Studies | Research and information relating to international borders
  The Association for Borderlands Studies (ABS) is the leading international scholarly association dedicated to the systematic study and exchange of ideas, information, and analysis of international borders, and the processes and communities engendered by such borders.
  Founded in 1976 with the original impetus for the study of the United States-Mexico borderlands, the Association has experienced a steady expansion and transformation in recent years. Currently, the ABS membership encompasses scholars, experts, and professionals in universities, international organizations, citizen associations, and governments in 55 countries in the Americas, Europe, Asia, and Africa.

Border PACT

• Border PACT | CONAHEC: Consortium for North American Higher Education Collaboration
  Border PACT was a network of U.S. and Mexican higher education institutions dedicated to building human capacity through education and training. Border PACT was first co-convened by CONAHEC, the American Council on Education (ACE), and the Asociación Nacional de Universidades e Instituciones de Educación Superior (ANUIES) in 1997 with the support of The Ford Foundation to increase higher education institutions’ involvement as agents of change in the borderlands communities where they are located. Members of the network became part of the solution to the many challenges faced by their borderlands communities.
  Border PACT encouraged its higher education institutions to expand their circle of partners and link with community-based organizations, government agencies, and the business sector. The Border PACT Grants Program was created to increase the involvement of higher education institutions from both sides of the border in collaborative binational projects that focused on academic and border community development in the areas of health, education, environment, economic development, and community issues. 

The Bracero History Archive

• Bracero History Archive
  The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964.  Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America. The Bracero History Archive is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media, George Mason University, the Smithsonian National Museum of American History, Brown University, and The Institute of Oral History at the University of Texas at El Paso.

University of Arizona: Special Collections at UA

• Arizona, Southwestern, and Borderlands Photograph Collection
  The collection contains photographs related mainly to Arizona, the Southwest, and Borderlands region. The collection documents Tucson's history, exploratory expeditions to the West in 1884-1885 and 1885-1886, and photos of Native American groups of the American Southwest and Mexico.

• Borderlands | Special Collections
  A collection of archival materials as well as printed texts on the Borderlands of the Southwest and Northwest of Mexico, from Baja, California to Tamaulipas, Mexico. These collections document the region's culture and history, from the colonial period to the present. Accounts of Native Americans and their ancestors, the impact of Spanish and Mexican settlement, and the influx of people into the region during the 19th century are also included.
   
• The Documented Border: An Open Access Digital Archive · Special Collections Online Exhibits 
  The Documented Border: An Open Access Digital Archive is an interdisciplinary effort whose goal is to advance understanding and awareness about the U.S.-Mexico borderlands and its peoples during a period of unprecedented societal change. The innovative archive focuses on untold and silenced stories and events about this transnational region.
   
• Historic Mexican & Mexican American Press: A Digital Collection of the UA Libraries
  The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.

The University of Texas El Paso: Borderlands Resources

• Bracero Oral History Project | Institute of Oral History | University of Texas at El Paso
  The Bracero Program, which brought millions of Mexican guest workers to the United States, ended more than four decades ago. Current debates about immigration policy-including discussions about a new guest worker program-have put the program back in the news and made it all the more important to understand this chapter of American history. This cooperative project sought to record the recollections of those involved in the program.
   
• Tales From the Chihuahuan Desert: Borderlands Narratives | E-Portfolio Projects
  A Summer Institute (Residential) for Secondary School Teachers (Grades 6–12) at The University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) in collaboration with the Center for Inter-American and Border Studies (CIBS) and the Institute of Oral History (IOH). 
   
• Gender in the Borderlands: Borderlands History | UTEP Library Research Guide
  Special Collections sources for the history of gender and sexuality in the Borderlands
   
• Borderlands History | UTEP Library Research Guide
  UTEP Library - C.L. Sonnichsen Special Collections Department: Primary source materials for the history of the borderlands

TNRIS DataHub

• TNRIS DataHub
  The Historical Imagery Archive maintained by the Texas Natural Resources Information System (TNRIS) is one of our most used and important data collections. It is comprised of over 1 million frames of photos covering all parts of Texas, including the borderlands, from dates as far back as the 1920s.

Journal of Borderlands Studies

• Journal of Borderlands Studies | Taylor & Francis Online 
  Journal of Borderlands Studies is the primary publication of the Association for Borderlands Studies, which has distinguished itself as a leading forum for border research. Widely consulted by researchers, but also by educators and practitioners, the journal encourages the submission of papers from all social science and humanities focusing on border issues, bordering dynamics, and borderlands in any part of the world. The emphasis on borders is global.

New Mexico State University:  Borderlands and Ethnic Studies

• BEST: Borderlands and Ethnic Studies | nmsu.edu
  The Borderlands and Ethnic Studies program’s courses invite students to learn more deeply about themselves, their communities, and truthful histories of local and global places.  The courses offer theoretical and applied ways to understand and navigate a complex and changing world steeped in constructs of race, gender, class, sexual orientation, and others. The relational, applied program is comprised of courses based on Borderlands identities and theories that refer to Borderlands spaces—physical, geopolitical, personal, and societal.   

San Diego State University:  Borderlands Institute

• Borderlands Institute | SDSU
  The SDSU-IVC Borderlands Institute was founded in August 2013 to promote border-related scholarship and activities relevant to the Imperial, Mexicali, and Yuma Valleys. The Institute fosters the University’s role as an active participant in the trans-border community, sponsors academic conferences and public lectures, hosts visiting scholars, and coordinates cultural exchange programs with Mexican Institutions.

El Paso Food Voices (EPFV)

• EP Food Voices | utep.edu
  El Paso Food Voices (EPFV) is a city's story lived through food. It speaks to cross-cultural connections that define a city's culinary identity that is made up of a diverse population, a past with roots spreading in multiple directions, and a dynamic and ever-changing present. This collection, which includes recipes, is gathered from home cooks, professional chefs, restaurant owners, community educators, and others from across El Paso, Texas.

Mexico USA Borderlands at Planeta.com

• Mexico USA Borderlands ♥️ | Planeta.com
  A reporter’s shared digital notebook, Planeta.com pioneers online reporting focusing on conservation and tourism around the globe. What we learned, we shared. What we had questions about, we asked questions about. The result: an award-winning site geared toward conscious travelers, hosts, and everyone in-between seeking practical suggestions in the realm of eco-friendly, people-friendly, and place-friendly travel.