Skip to Main Content

Film Studies

A guide to researching film, film history and practical aspects of filmmaking and the film industry.

Find Books & eBooks

Quick Search Logo

OCLC WorldCat Logo

If you don't find the book that you want in Quick Search try searching in WorldCat. Please fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.

Search for an item in libraries near you: 

 

Google Book Search

Search for eBooks in: Quick Search Logo

OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:

Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.


Open Access eBooks


How to Access eBooks in Each Platform

Find Streaming Media

Kanopy at MSMU


What is it?

Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming service that has a broad collection of over 30,000 full-length films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, Samuel Goldwyn, PBS, and more.

How to Access Kanopy

Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device, or platform by visiting msmu.kanopy.com or downloading the Kanopy app.

How to Log in 

  • Use your MSMU credentials to create an account, or simply start streaming.
  • If you are on campus, you do not need to login to start streaming. 

Please help us keep costs down by exiting out of a film quickly if you don't plan to watch it. After 30 seconds of viewing, the license triggers.

If you create a Kanopy account with your MSMU credentials, you will be able to: 

Kanopy has many titles of unique educational, social, and cultural value. Enjoy! 

More Streaming Films

Trading Places poster art

Trading Places

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Sorry to Bother You poster art

Sorry to Bother You

License through 08/31/2024

School Daze poster art

School Daze

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Mo' Better Blues poster art

Mo' Better Blues

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Malcolm X poster art

Malcolm X

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Jungle Fever Poster art

Jungle Fever

Licensed through 12/31/2024

It Follows poster art

It Follows

Licensed through 08/31/2024

If Beale Street Could Talk poster art

If Beale Street Could Talk

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Do the Right Thing Poster art

Do the Right Thing

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Blue Valentine Poster Art

Blue Valentine

Licensed through 08/31/2024

2010

2010: The Year We Make Contact

Licensed through 10/31/2024

Awakenings

Awakenings: Eyes on the Prize

Licensed through 5/25/2024

Barry Lyndon

Barry Lyndon

Licensed through 4/30/2024

Bless Me Ultima

Bless Me, Ultima

Licensed through 6/30/2023

Booksmart

Booksmart

Licensed though 5/31/2026

The Bounty

The Bounty

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Coco Chanel

Coco Chanel

Licensed through 1/10/2025

Color Purple film poster

The Color Purple

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Dances with Wolves poster

Dances with Wolves (1990)

Licensed through July 31, 2023

Desierto

Desierto

Licensed through 6/30/2023

Frost/Nixon

Frost/Nixon

Licensed through 4/21/2024

Half the Sky

Half the Sky Part 1

Licensed perpetually

Harriet

Harriet

Licensed through 10/31/2024

Indecent Proposal

Indecent Proposal

Licensed through 4/30/2024

Jaws

Jaws

Licensed through 5/31/2026

King Leopold's Ghost

King Leopold's Ghost

Licensed through 11/11/2024

Like Water for Chocolate

Like Water for Chocolate

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Lord of the Flies poster

Lord of the Flies (1990)

Licensed through July 31, 2024

Lost in America

Lost in America

Licensed through 6/30/2024

Making the Impossible Possible

Making the Impossible Possible

Licensed through 6/16/2024

Peru

Peru: Fiesta of Corpus Christi

Licensed through 1/6/2025

Reflections Unheard

Reflections Unheard (2013)

Licensed perpetually

The September Issue

The September Issue

Licensed through 10/31/2024

The Shawshank Redemption

The Shawshank Redemption

Licensed through 12/31/2024

Sin Nombre

Sin Nombre

Licensed through 6/30/2024

Suffragette

Suffragette

Licensed through 10/31/2024

They are We

They are We

Licensed through 10/12/2071

Traffic

Traffic

Licensed through 4/30/2024

Zeus King of the Gods movie poster

Zeus: King of the Gods

Licensed through 4/29/2025

New Books for Film Scholars!

Online Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Other Reference Materials


These resources are great for fact-checking, quick and basic information, and topic overviews. They can also be a great place to start when researching a new topic that you are not familiar with. Finding basic information on a topic can help you understand what to look for in more advanced searches. 

Masters Thesis Collection

The Masters Thesis collection is located on the 2nd floor of the J. Thomas McCarthy Library.  All of our theses are subject-cataloged in the library catalog.  You can also browse through the MA Humanities boxes (THH) for theses that discuss film or include student-written screenplays.

Find Print Books in the MSMU Libraries


Books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system.
Each book has a unique call number.
They are organized so that similar subjects are next to each other on the shelf.
When you find a book that you want in the library's catalog, write down the call number and location.

Coe Library - Chalon Campus 

3rd Floor (main level) 

  • Reference Materials
  • Course Reserves (at Circulation)
  • Best Sellers

1st Floor

  • Main Stacks A-Z
  • Oversize A-Z
  • Archives & Special Collections

McCarthy Library - Doheny Campus

1st Floor (main level)

  • Reference Materials
  • Course Reserves (at Circulation)

2nd Floor

  • Main Stacks A-Z
  • Periodicals
  • Masters' Theses

Call Number Example 

Find  RC280 .B8 L58 1980b at the Coe Library - Chalon Campus.

  • According to the chart above, R books are located on the 1st floor.
  • Go to the 1st Floor South and look for "RC" (between RB and RD).
  • Follow the numbers after the RC’s until you get to 280 (two hundred and eighty, not 2-8-0).
  • Look for all the RC280s with letters following them, and find the letter B.
  • Go to B8.
  • Look for all the RC280.B8’s, and find the letter L.
  • Go to L58 (fifty-eight, not 5-8).
  • Look for the year 1980 at the end of the call number. (b)
  • There is your book!

Request Books From Other Libraries


Request books from another MSMU campus library

Campus-to-Campus Mail Delivery

  • Search the MSMU Library Catalog for the book you need. You may search by title, author, subject or keyword. 
  • If the book is available in an MSMU Library, it can be sent to either Chalon or Doheny libraries via Intercampus Mail.
  • Just ask a librarian or one of our student workers at the circulation desk to order it for you. Please allow at least 2 days for delivery.

Request books from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with OCLC - WorldCat

  • Traditional Interlibrary Loan is used for books not available through the MSMU Libraries. This service must be performed by the ILL coordinator, who will request your book through OCLC WorldCat Resource Sharing.
  • If you need a book that is not available at MSMU, please fill out the ILL Request Form to request traditional ILL. 
  • Please allow at least two weeks for delivery. Books ordered via traditional ILL are shipped by the USPS using the media mail rate. Please plan for shipping time when doing your research.