Make an Appointment
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
American Cinematographer is a monthly magazine devoted to a wide variety of film issues, including techniques, equipment, and news. Read it online through the library's journal holdings.
** Helpful Hint - sign up for e-alerts so you will know when a new issue is published online. Just click "share" on the right side of the screen.
This guide assists MFA and Film & Social Justice students with locating research articles, books, films and information about films and filmmaking.
If you're short on time, check out these best bets for finding quick access to streaming films in the MSMU Libraries' collection as well as information on various film topics.
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 30,000 films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, A24 and many more.
Effective July 1, 2021, MSMU Libraries will transition to a Smart DDA model, which means that users will still have immediate access to over 10,000 films - including our currently licensed 230 films. Some Kanopy titles will be requestable through a form so please allow 24-48 hours to make these films available.
Swank Digital Campus allows students the legal flexibility to view course-assigned films outside of the classroom or in the online course management system. Please note that MSMU does not have access to the complete catalog. If you are looking for a specific film, check the library catalog or fill out a suggest a purchase form.
When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu
If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.
To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.
ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.
To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.