Research Guides: FYS: First Year Seminar: Home

myMSMU - FYS

myMSMU - First Year Seminar
Visit this page to learn more about the FYS courses, workshops, Connection to the Mount Activities, Common Campus Read (CCR), and MSMU's take on your liberal arts education.

Quick Links

MSMU Libraries Homepage
Visit the Libraries' main website.
My Library Account
Renew books, view fines and holds, and request books to be sent from one campus to another.
Databases A-Z
Includes all of the databases accessible through the MSMU Libraries. Sort by subject or type to find the database you need.
Research Guides by Subject
View MSMU Libraries Research Guides by Subject.

Quick Search | MSMU Libraries This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.
NOTE: It searches most, but not all of the libraries’ subscription databases as well as some open access content. Use your MSMU credentials to access Quick Search from off campus.

Quick Search is built on the product EBSCO Discovery Service.

Library Account Activation

Library Account Activation Form
For MSMU students, faculty, and staff: Fill out this form to activate your MSMU Library Account. We will activate your account with your University ID, which gives you the ability to check out books and request items through interlibrary loan.

Trouble Logging In From Off-Campus?

When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu

If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.

Logging In for Database Access

ACCESS TO DATABASES

To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.

ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.

To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.

Library Account Activation Form
For MSMU students, faculty, and staff: Fill out this form to activate your MSMU Library Account. We will activate your account with your University ID, which gives you the ability to check out books and request items through interlibrary loan.

Popular Resources

Quick Search | MSMU Libraries This link opens in a new window
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.
NOTE: It searches most, but not all of the libraries’ subscription databases as well as some open access content. Use your MSMU credentials to access Quick Search from off campus.

Quick Search is built on the product EBSCO Discovery Service.
EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Search across all of EBSCO's databases in a wide range of academic disciplines.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
An extensive collection of journals and books in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Collection of databases in the following academic disciplines: News & Newspapers, The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences.

FYS: First Year Seminar

ASK US!