Research Guides: Nursing: Websites

Nursing Websites

California Board of Registered Nurses
Applications, fees, instructions, current policies, and contact information for nursing licensure in California.
National Institute of Nursing Research (National Institutes of Health)
The National Institute of Nursing Research supports clinical and basic research to establish a scientific basis for the care of individuals. Includes recent press releases, grants and funding information, and links to other electronic nursing resources.
Nursing World (American Nurses Association)
Links to legislative information and policy papers as well as full text of American Nurse and Online Journal of Issues in Nursing, News Kiosk (press releases, news services, etc.), state nursing association websites, the American Academy of Nursing and more!
Lippincott Nursing Center
Journals and trade magazines, forum discussion, continuing education and journal articles. May charge for some content.
American Association for the History of Nursing
Try the Research & Resources tab for a listing of resources available for study of the history of nursing. It is not a comprehensive list; historical research involves considerable searching for source material. But this list includes regional centers which serve as nursing repositories, a selection of web sites with both nursing and general history content, as well as other nursing history organizations.

NCLEX-RN Practice Tools

NCLEX-RN Test Prep - Khan Academy

Health Websites

Center for Disease Control (CDC)
- This link opens in a new window
The CDC strives to turn new research into tools and actions that save more lives, track diseases to take the pulse of America's health, identify diseases, food borne outbreaks, bio-security threats, and environmental hazards, and work with state, local, and territorial public health departments to investigate and protect against health threats.
ClinicalTrials.gov
is the openly available federal registry and results database of publicly and privately funded clinical studies conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov (link is external) is a vital resource for researchers, healthcare providers, and health sciences librarians who wish to consult the entire body of evidence on any particular topic.
Genetics Home Research
Genetics Home Reference provides consumer-friendly information about the effects of genetic variation on human health.
Health Topics - National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Science-based articles written in plain language about heart, lung and blood diseases and sleep disorders.
LactMed: Drugs and Lactation Database
The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
MedlinePlus
Collection of health sites compiled by the National Library of Medicine. Sources include: information on over 500 diseases and conditions, lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, information on prescription and nonprescription drugs and supplements, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. Patient education tutorials are also provided.
Merck Manuals
An advertising-free medical portal supplying medical news, scientific learning resources, and diagnostic tools specifically for U.S. healthcare providers all with no access fees .
National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF)
IHI/NPSF is a searchable website with links to online patient safety resources and organizations, including news, events, certifications, and educational resources. The Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) and the National Patient Safety Foundation (NPSF) began working together as one organization in May 2017.
OncoLink
Developed by the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania for educational purposes to help cancer patients, families, health care professionals, and the general public to find accurate cancer-related information. Provides information on cancer types, updates on treatments, and news about research advances. Provides information at introductory up to in-depth levels.

Special Populations Health Websites

Population Groups (MedlinePlus)
Links guides about health issues that affect specific populations of racial/ethic groups, age groups, gender and sexual orientations, and other groups.Maintained by the National Institute of Health and National Library of Medicine.
Health Equity (CDC)
- This link opens in a new window
Articles, discussions, and programs concerning minority groups that may experience a disproportionate burden of preventable disease, death, and disability compared with non-minorities.
REHABDATA
REHABDATA is produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center and is freely available on the Web. "The main file, 1997-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities."

Government and Nonprofit Websites

These sites can be reliable sources of information.

Government sites are generally noted with the .gov at the end of the URL, and nonprofits with .org.

With nonprofit organizations, it is important to investigate them thoroughly to ensure that you are getting reliable non-biased information.

Look at things like their funding sources, mission statement, about section to better understand the group.

A-Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies

Nursing

ASK US!

Nursing Websites

NCLEX-RN Practice Tools

Health Websites

Special Populations Health Websites

Government and Nonprofit Websites

Follow Us