Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Here in MSMU's Digital Collections, you will find complete, detailed transcripts of more than 50 interviews with L.A.-based CSJs. You can also explore faculty research into the CSJ ministries sponsored by the CSJ Institute and some key texts that have been important to the sisters for more than 350 years.
Don't miss the story of the harrowing journey of seven {unstoppable} CSJs across the blistering Arizona desert to found a community in Tucson, AZ, in 1870.
Visit the Mount Archives on the Chalon campus for papers, publications by the CSJs, pictures and more. The University Archives is happy to work with you to find what you need.
Sister Mary Williams, CSJ, a former English professor and Provost, tells the story of the CSJs in Los Angeles and the West, including the founding of MSMU.
All things New by Founded in 2016, the CSJ Institute at Mount Saint Mary's University is centered on perpetuating the CSJ charism and its vital role in the life of not only MSMU but the larger world. As its mission statement says,
Rooted in the rich history and charism of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Carondelet, the Institute advances the CSJ commitment to serve all persons without distinction, to respond to the needs of the times, and to prepare fearless visionaries for a just future.
See more about the CSJ Institute and its work on its website.
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.
When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu
If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.
To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.
ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.
To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.