Research Guides: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19): COVID-19 Research

LitCovid: NIH - National Library of Medicine

LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. It is the most comprehensive resource on the subject, providing central access to 1642 (and growing) relevant articles in PubMed. The articles are updated daily and are further categorized by different research topics and geographic locations for improved access. You can read more at Chen et al. Nature (2020) and download our data here.

LitCovid - View the latest publications here or below (RSS Feed).

LitCovid | NIH-NLM

PubMed: coronavirus search results

Get the latest results from PubMed using this search string developed by the Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library:

"Wuhan coronavirus"[Supplementary Concept] OR covid19 OR covid-19 OR "covid 19" OR 2019ncov OR 2019-ncov OR "2019 ncov" OR "2019 Novel Coronavirus" OR "2019 novel cov" OR (wuhan AND (ncov OR coronavirus)) OR "novel coronavirus pneumonia"

PubMed - COVID-19 article search

Clinicaltrials.gov - NIH/NLM - National Library of Medicine

Clinicaltrials.gov - NIH/NLM - National Library of Medicine - "coronavirus" search

Search results from "coronavirus" search. This list shows studies added or modified (last update posted) in the last 14 days.

Clinicaltrials.gov - NIH/NLM - National Library of Medicine - "COVID-19" search

Search results from "COVID-19" search. This list shows studies added or modified (last update posted) in the last 14 days.

It also searched for SARS-CoV-2, 2019-nCoV, and 2019 novel coronavirus. See Search Details

CDC: COVID-19 Research Articles Downloadable Database

The Stephen B. Thacker CDC Library is collecting COVID-19 (2019 Novel Coronavirus) research articles and compiling them into an easily accessible and downloadable database to help researchers find research articles.

This database is updated once a week by systematically searching various bibliographic databases and hand searching selected grey literature sources. The methodology is posted below. Updates are posted on Friday.

CDC: COVID-19 Reports & Publications

Publications by the Health Departments and MMWRs:

WHO: Global research on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

"WHO is gathering the latest scientific findings and knowledge on coronavirus disease (COVID-19) and compiling it in a database. We update the database daily from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searches of the table of contents of relevant journals, and the addition of other relevant scientific articles that come to our attention. The entries in the database may not be exhaustive and new research will be added regularly."

WHO: Database of publications on coronavirus disease (COVID-19)

Other Free Resources Available from Major Publishers

Additional COVID-19 resources publishers have made freely available:

American Society for Microbiologists
ASM is providing free access to nearly 50 research articles published over the last year in ASM’s 16 scholarly journals to support research efforts and communications about the novel coronavirus (COVID-19).
BioOne Peer-Reviewed Research to Inform the Coronavirus Crisis
Peer-reviewed scholarly research and research libraries are trusted guides during times of scientific uncertainty. As the world navigates the COVID-19 pandemic, BioOne is proud to share the wealth of relevant content from our publishing partners to provide support for those working on solutions for this global crisis.
In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the linked journals available via open access through 2020.
Elsevier Novel Coronavirus Information Center
Elsevier’s free health and medical research on the novel coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) and COVID-19. Updated resources from scientific and medical journals and textbooks, educational products, and a variety of other resources, like travel precautions from the CDC and media posts of interest to our community. Includes ScienceDirect.
Emerald- Free Content Related to Coronavirus
Emerald collected a number of research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly.
These resources are freely available to access. Whilst these materials do not only relate to the current clinical challenges of Novel Coronavirus, they may provide relevant context to how the world reacted to other previous Coronavirus outbreaks (notably SARS) and epidemics.
Health Security - Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. publishers
Health Security: Coronaviruses: Outbreak Preparedness and Response, Infection Control, and Public Health Policy - "We have selected 10 relevant articles from Health Security on coronaviruses, outbreak preparedness and response, infection control, and public health policy; these articles will be freely available through March 31, 2020 to facilitate the conversation around health security."
HHS.gov: ASPR TRACIE Resources: Topic Collection: Coronaviruses
(Topic Collection - Coronaviruses - e.g. SARS, MERS, and COVID-10) For regional ASPR staff, healthcare coalitions, healthcare entities, healthcare providers, emergency managers, public health practitioners, and others working in disaster medicine, healthcare system preparedness, and public health emergency preparedness. The Technical Resources, Assistance Center, and Information Exchange (TRACIE)
The Lancet: 2019-nCoV Resource Centre
This resource brings together new 2019 novel coronavirus (2019-nCoV) content from across The Lancet journals as it is published. All content listed on this page is free to access.
NEJM: Coronavirus (COVID-19)
New England Journal of Medicine. A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Springer Nature SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19
SARS-CoV-2 is a new virus responsible for an outbreak of respiratory illness known as COVID-19, which has spread to several countries around the world. As a leading research publisher, Springer Nature is committed to supporting the global response to emerging outbreaks by enabling fast and direct access to the latest available research, evidence, and data.
Linked are related research articles from our journals, as well as additional commentary on this topic and relevant books. All content listed here is free to access.
Wiley Covid-19: Novel Coronavirus Content Free to Access
In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community. On workdays, newly published articles are made free within 24 hours of publication. Articles published after 14:00 (EST) on Friday will be made free the following Monday.
Wolters Kluwer: Expert Searches (UpToDate & Ovid)
Free access to UpToDate in English & Chinese, plus two Ovid Expert Searches focused on Wuhan coronavirus. Access the latest and most relevant content on MEDLINE and Journals@Ovid and GIDEON: (Global Infectious Diseases and Epidemiology Online Network) .

Grey Literature

Don't forget to review materials and research produced by organizations outside of the traditional commercial or academic publishing and distribution channels.

Disaster Lit : search "novel coronavirus" or "coronavirus disease" or COVID-19
Disaster Lit: Database for Disaster Medicine and Public Health
National Library of Medicine (NLM) database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost. Documents include expert guidelines, research reports, conference proceedings, training classes, fact sheets, websites, databases, and similar materials for a professional audience. NLM selects materials from over 1,400 non-commercial publishing sources and supplements disaster-related resources from PubMed (biomedical journal literature) and MedlinePlus (health information for the public).

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

ASK US!