What is Critical Race Theory?
Critical Race Theory states that "the law and legal institutions are inherently racist and that race itself, instead of being biologically grounded and natural, is a socially constructed concept that is used by white people to further their economic and political interests at the expense of people of colour."
"Critical race theory (CRT)." Britannica Academic, Encyclopædia Britannica, 28 May. 2020. academic-eb-com.msmc.idm.oclc.org/levels/collegiate/article/critical-race-theory/607715. Accessed 2 Oct. 2020.
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by
This third edition of Gale Encyclopedia Of Multicultural America updates the essays in the second edition on specific minority and ethnic groups in the U.S., with an emphasis on culture (religions, holidays, customs, language) in addition to information on historical background and settlement patterns. It will also add cultures not covered in the second edition. The Encyclopedia also includes ethnoreligious groups such as Jews, Chaldeans and Amish. Each essay has a listing of organizations and research centers, names addresses and contact information for periodicals, radio and television stations, and a list of suggestions for further reading. Includes 23 new ethnic groups and 152 revised ethnic entries. Approximately one-third of the essays will include a recipe for a traditional dish associated with that ethnic group. Also featured is a general annotated bibliography with over 100 items regarding multiculturalism. Consistent headings throughout each essay will make information easy to find and invite comparisons, and full color photographs and illustrations will make the content more engaging. Each essay will also be accompanied by a map showing either historical or current population patterns in the United States for the ethnic group in question. Key Features 􀂃 Advisory board guided the content updating 􀂃 Each signed entry has been reviewed by a subject scholar for accuracy 􀂃 Engaging, beautiful images now in full color 􀂃 Traditional recipes accompany c. one third of the entries (new feature) 􀂃 Up-to-date census information and population maps 􀂃 Updated directory information 􀂃 23 new entries, 152 revised entries
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America by 