Ethnic Studies

Full text coverage of the Los Angeles Sentinel is available from Jul 23, 2003 - present via Ethnic Newswatch (ProQuest)

Provides access to the five top US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.

Provides full-text for hundreds of US national, regional and international newspapers. Also offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.

Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Check out these tutorial / certificate programs:

Nexis Uni®: Learn the Fundamentals of Searching and Results—Level 1

Nexis Uni®: Learn the ABCs of Legal Research—Level 1

Nexis Uni®: Learn the Key Components of News Research— Level 2

A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Ethnic NewsWatch is searchable in English, Spanish, and many other languages and contains more than 500,000 articles in Spanish.

Provides access to five newspaper and news-related ProQuest databases. Databases can be searched individually or at the same time. Also included is access to ProQuest Newsstand, which contains full-text for articles, columns, editorials, and obituaries from over 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and more.

A collection of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text capturing historically important events. The Associated Press Images Collection is a primary source database from the Associated Press (AP), one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world.

This database includes over 12,000 international and national news sources, representing 200 countries and more than 8 languages. There are over 300 California newspapers, too. Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources.

Access California News Sources here.

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media from 1976 to the present.