Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
This link opens in a new windowThis free database provides essays and scholarly articles focused on issues related to race in society today. Also includes photographs and charts.
Topics include: Affirmative Action, Black Lives Matter Movement, COVID-19 and Communities of Color, the Digital Divide and more.
Based on James P. Danky's bibliography, AAN provides access to 280 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states published by or for African Americans. Topics include life in the Antebellum South, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, and more.
For more information, check out this short video.
A cross-searchable collection of periodical articles, essays and reference material covering historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. The Black Studies Center combines resources such as The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the 19th century to the present.
This resource provides access to the largest collection of Spanish-language, historical newspapers from Hispanic publishers in the U.S. Content covers 1808-1980 and includes translations.
Focuses on trans-Atlantic slavery and abolition.
Includes original manuscript and rare printed material, dating back to 1490. Topics include slavery in America, slavery today, US court records from the local, regional and State Supreme Court level, documents on the Islamic slave trade, as well as sources on urban slavery, interracial education, the Day Law in Kentucky, desegregation and social justice.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowincludes primary source advertisements of community events, logistical information about the camps and relocation, news from the community and editorials. Part of the Library of Congress' Digital Collections. These newspapers were produced by the Japanese-Americans interned at assembly centers and relocation centers around the U.S. during World War II. Includes articles written in English and Japanese, typed, handwritten and drawn.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowExcellent database of primary source material. Publication Dates Covered: 1836-1922 Open Access resource.
Search U.S. newspapers (or just California Newspapers) published between 1836 and 1922.
When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu
If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.
To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.
ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.
To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.
