Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Author-Last name, first name initial. Title. Publishing company, year.
Books with one author: Author (Last name, First name). Title. Publisher, Year of Publication.
with 2 authors: Author 1 (Last name, First name) and Author 2 (First name Last name). Title. Publisher, Year of publication.
with 3 or more authors: Author 1 (Last name, First name), et al. Title. Publisher, Year of publication.
Electronic book: Author (Last name, First name). TItle. Publisher, Date of Publication. Database name. Date accessed (day month year).
Chapter within a book: Author of chapter (Last name, First name). "Title of chapter." Date that chapter was published. Title of book. Ed. Editor 1 (First name last name) and Editor 2 (First name Last name). Publisher, Date of publication (book). pages on which the chapter is found.
Encyclopedias/Multi-Volume Works: "Article title." Dictionary . Edition. Year.
Author-Last name, initial(s). (year). Title. Publisher Location: Publishing Company.
Books with one author: Tuten, T.L. (2008). Title. Westport, Connecticut: Praeger.
With 2 Authors: Clifton, R. & Ahmad, S.(2009). Title. New York: Bloomberg Press.
With 3 or more Authors: Phipps, W. J., Long, B. C., Woods, N. F., & Sands, J. K. (1987). Title. St. Louis: Mosby.
Electronic Book: Srivastava, R. K., & Thomas, G. M. (2016). The Future of Branding. New Delhi, India: Sage Publications Pvt. Ltd.
Chapter within a book: Cassel, J. & Zambella, B. (1996). Without a Net: Supporting Ourselves in a Tremulous Atmosphere. In T. W. Leonhardt (Ed.),. "LOEX" of the West: Teaching and Learning in a Climate of Constant Change (pp. 75-92). Greenwich, CT: JAI Press.
Encyclopedias/Multi-Volume Works: Wiener, P. (Ed.). (1973). Dictionary of the history of ideas (Vols. 1-4). New York, NY: Scribner’s.
First author-last name, first name initial, and Second author-First name last name initial. Title. Publisher's location: Publishing company, year.
Books with one author: Tuten, Tracy L. Advertising 2.0: Social Media Marketing in a Web 2.0 World. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2008.
with 2 authors: Clifton, Rita, and Sameena Ahmad. Title. New York: Bloomberg Press, 2009.
with 3 or more authors: Phipps, Wilma J., Barbara C. Long, Nancy Fugate Woods, and Judith K. Sands. Title. St. Louis: Mosby, 1987.
Electronic book: Abrahams, David. Brand Risk Adding Risk Literacy to Brand Management. Aldershot, England: Ashgate Pub, 2008. <http://site.ebrary.com/id/10215578>.
Chapter within a book: Cassel, J., and B. Zambella. 1996. "Without a Net: Supporting Ourselves in a Tremulous Atmosphere". In Leonhardt, Thomas W. "LOEX" of the West: Teaching and Learning in a Climate of Constant Change. Greenwich, Conn: JAI Press, 1996.
Encyclopedias/Multi-Volume Works: Wiener, Philip P. Dictionary of the History of Ideas; Studies of Selected Pivotal Ideas. New York: Scribner, 1973.
First author-Last name, First name initial, and Second author-First name Last name initial. Year. Title. Publisher's location: Publishing company.
Books with one author: Tuten, Tracy L. 2008. Advertising 2.0: social media marketing in a Web 2.0 world. Westport, Conn: Praeger.
with 2 authors: Clifton, Rita, and Sameena Ahmad. 2009. Title. New York: Bloomberg Press.
with 3 or more authors: Phipps, Wilma J., Barbara C. Long, Nancy Fugate Woods, and Judith K. Sands. 1987. TItle. St. Louis: Mosby.
Electronic book: Abrahams, David. 2008. Brand risk adding risk literacy to brand management. Aldershot, England: Ashgate Pub. http://site.ebrary.com/id/10215578.
Chapter within a book: Cassel, J., and B. Zambella. 1996. "Without a Net: Supporting Ourselves in a Tremulous Atmosphere". In Leonhardt, Thomas W. 1996. "LOEX" of the west: teaching and learning in a climate of constant change. Greenwich, Conn: JAI Press.
Encyclopedias/Multi-Volume Works: Wiener, Philip P. 1973. Dictionary of the history of ideas; studies of selected pivotal ideas. New York: Scribner.
Author-Last name first initial (Year), Title, Publisher's location: Publishing company.
Books with one author: Tuten, T (2008), Advertising 2.0: Social Media Marketing in a Web 2.0 World, Westport, CT: Praeger.
with 2 authors: Clifton, R &Sameena, A (2009), Title, New York: Bloomberg Press.
with 3 authors: Phipps, WJ, Long, BC, Woods, NF &Sands, JK (1987), TItle, St. Louis: Mosby.
Electronic book: Nimmo, HA (2011), Pele, Volcano Goddess of Hawai'i: a History, Jefferson, NC: MacFarland & Company. Available from Ebrary. [5 December 2012].
Chapter within a book: De Maria, W (1996), 'The Lightning Field.' in Theories and Documents of Contemporary Art: A Sourcebook of Artists' Writings, eds K Styles & P Selz, Berkeley: University of California Press, pp. 527-30.
For further examples, check out the University of Western Australia's Style Guide.
Book with one author: Nyberg J.J. A Caring Approach in Nursing Administration. Niwot, Colorado: University Press of Colorado; 1998.
Book with more than one Author: Bryan R.A., Childers L. Handling Difficult Patients: a Nurse Manager's Guide. Marblehead, Massachusetts: HCPro, 2004.
Electronic Book: Carachi R, Agarwala S, Bradnock T, Tan H, Cascio S, eds. Basic Techniques in Pediatric Surgery: an Operative Manual. Berlin: Springer, 2013. http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-642-20641-2. Accessed August 21, 2014.
Encyclopedias/Multi-Volume Works: Smith J. Organic gardening. In: The New Encyclopaedia Britannica: Macropaedia Volume 24. Chicago, Illinois: Encyclopaedia Britannica. 1987:390-392.
Book with one author: Nyberg, J.J. A Caring Approach in Nursing Administration; University Press of Colorado: Niwot, Colorado; 1998.
Book with more than one Author: Bryan, R.A.; Childers, L. Handling Difficult Patients: a Nurse Manager's Guide; HCPro: Marblehead, Massachusetts; 2004.
Electronic Book: Carachi, R.; Agarwala, S.; Bradnock, T.; Tan, H.; Cascio, S., eds. Basic Techniques in Pediatric Surgery: an Operative Manual. Berlin: Springer, 2013. http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007/978-3-642-20641-2. Accessed August 21, 2014.
Encyclopedias/Multi-Volume Works: Smith, J. Organic gardening. In: The New Encyclopaedia Britannica: Macropaedia; Volume 24; Encyclopedia Britannica: Chicago, Illinois, 1987; 390-392.
MLA
Author last name, First Name. "Title of video." YouTube, uploaded by Screen Name, day month year, www.youtube.com/xxxxx.
If there is no author/creator listed, start the citation with the title and make sure to include the Screen Name of the uploader.
In-text: (Last name, 00:01:15 - 00:02:00) or "Title of video," 00:01:15 - 00:02:00)
APA
Screen name. (year, month day). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved from http://xxxx
In-text: (last name or screen name, year).
Visit the guide below for more help with: