Research Guides: Find Books & Media: Find Media

Find Streaming Media

Kanopy
LA Theatre Works

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 30,000 films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, A24 and many more.

Effective July 1, 2021, MSMU Libraries will transition to a Smart DDA model, which means that users will still have immediate access to over 10,000 films - including our currently licensed 230 films. Some Kanopy titles will be requestable through a form so please allow 24-48 hours to make these films available.

Kanopy at MSMU

What is it?

Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming service that has a broad collection of over 30,000 full-length films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, Samuel Goldwyn, PBS, and more.

How to Access Kanopy

Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device, or platform by visiting msmu.kanopy.com or downloading the Kanopy app.

How to Log in

Use your MSMU credentials to create an account, or simply start streaming.
If you are on campus, you do not need to login to start streaming.

Please help us keep costs down by exiting out of a film quickly if you don't plan to watch it. After 30 seconds of viewing, the license triggers.

If you create a Kanopy account with your MSMU credentials, you will be able to:

create clips and playlists
embed films in course websites
have access to other tools as well

Kanopy has many titles of unique educational, social, and cultural value. Enjoy!

Open Access Audio

Resources to help you find free audio files:

ccmixter
- This link opens in a new window
"Download, Sample, Cut-up, Share" A community remix site including Creative Commons licensed music, audio, and video.
Free Music Archive
- This link opens in a new window
An interactive library of legal audio downloads directed by WFMU-FM, a listener-supported, non-commercial radio station.
Historical Voices
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of spoken-word materials housed in a grant-funded digital library stored by Michigan State University.
Internet Archive - Audio Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Contains recordings ranging from alternative news programming, to Grateful Dead concerts, to Old Time Radio shows, to book and poetry readings, to original music uploaded by our users. Many of these files are available for free download.
National Jukebox - Library of Congress
- This link opens in a new window
Historical recordings from the Library of Congress - streaming collection of old music from the early 20th century.
LibriVox
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of public domain audio books.
Open Culture - Audio Books
- This link opens in a new window
Free audio books in various formats: iTunes, MP3, or streaming.
Opsound
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of free audio files, uploaded by the Opsound community of artists.
Wikimedia - Sound
- This link opens in a new window
Free media repository of sounds.

Find Books & Media

ASK US!