Skip to main content

Find Books & Media

Your guide to finding books, eBooks, streaming media, and more at MSMU.

How do I start?


Quick Search and the MSMU Libraries Catalog are the best ways to find books in the MSMU Libraries.

The MSMU Libraries Catalog contains records for print books and print journals, as well as records for electronic books and journals. If you know exactly what you want, you may search by title, author, call number, or ISBN. Or you may prefer an exploratory search using subject headings or keywords.

Find Print Books in the Stacks


The catalog record for a book or journal will give you the basic information needed to find it: 

  • Location: which library and area the book is located
  • Call Number: which tells you where it should be on the shelf
  • Availability: whether or not the book is checked out

Records for electronic resources will link you to the main search page of the book or journal. 

If the MSMU Libraries does not own the book you want, you may request it from one of our LINK+ partner libraries or the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network. After starting your MSMU Libraries' Catalog search, just click the button that reads “LINK+” on the right-hand side of the page, or extend your search to WorldCat.

You will need a current MSMU Libraries Card (Barcode) to check out books and to request books on LINK+ or WorldCat.

Pro Tips


  • Browsing is encouraged! First, find a book in the online catalog that looks interesting to you. Then, when you locate the book in the stacks, look around for other titles that may have been similarly cataloged. You may find many books on the same subject or by the same author nearby.
  • It's a good idea to create accounts where you find them to save lists of resources that you may want to consult later.

Search the MSMU Libraries Catalog for books!

MSMU Libraries Catalog logo

 


Search by Keyword, Subject, Title, Author, Call Number or ISBN.

Why use Advanced Search?

Advanced Search is helpful when you need to use more than one search term or need more detailed search options than those offered in the basic keyword search box. Advanced Search allows you to:

  • Search the catalog using multiple key phrases
  • Filter by date, language, and format

Multiple Search Bars

Advanced Search allows you to use multiple search bars together. You can search by title, journal title, author, subject, call number, ISBN/ISSN, publisher, series, year of publication and table of contents. This is helpful if you want to do, for example, an author search on one line and a keyword search on the next line.

Advanced search terms image

Filters or Limits

There are several options for you to narrow or limit your advanced search, highlighted in the screen shot below, and listed here:

  • Library Location
  • Material Type (e.g. archives, music, printed matl = books, etc.)
  • Language 
  • Publication Date Range (in years)
  • Search by Publisher name
  • Searches are automatically sorted by relevance

advanced search box image

Search Tips

Wildcards

Words may be right-hand truncated using an asterisk ('*') in place of other characters. The '*' wildcard may also be embedded in a search string. You may use '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word.
Examples : environment* polic*, wom?n

Boolean Operators

Use "and" or "or" to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use "and not" to exclude words.
Example : stocks and bonds
Example : (alaska or canada) and (adventure and not vacation)

Field Limits

A field limit causes the system to search only the specified field for the specified word(s).

Grouping

Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. Each group represents a similar level of relevance and results are sorted within the group by date or title. To get an ungrouped result set, use boolean operators to form a complex query.

Search by Instructor or Course

Under (More Searches) on the right side of the MSMU Libraries Catalog

More Searches Image

Search by:‚Äč

 

More Searches

Under (More Searches) on the right hand side in the catalog:

Use the catalog to search by:

 

Loading ...

What is LINK+?


LINK+ is a free service which allows current MSMU students, faculty and staff to borrow books from other LINK+ participating academic and public libraries in California and Nevada. The LINK+ catalog is a combined catalog of materials belonging to the participating libraries.

LINK+ has faster delivery than traditional Interlibrary Loan. Books are delivered to both Chalon and Doheny campus libraries by courier service. MSMU Libraries’ users may only borrow books. Materials such as media and journals are searchable, but not available for borrowing.
 

How do I use LINK+?

You can request a book using the MSMU Libraries’ online catalog, which connects to the LINK+ catalog. You will be prompted to enter your barcode to request your book.

All LINK+ users must have a current library card, free of fines, to use the service.

The loan period is 21 days with one renewal. You may renew your books and monitor the status of your requests by clicking My Library Account on the MSMU Libraries’ home page. Log in using your name and library bar code to see if materials have been shipped or received.
 

Are LINK+ overdue fees the same as MSMU fees?

Overdue LINK+ materials are charged at a rate of $1/day and $115 for lost or damaged materials.

What is WorldCat?


WorldCat by OCLC is the world's largest network of library content and services.
 

How do I use WorldCat?

Search for items using the WorldCat search features. When you locate an item that you need, fill out an ILL Request Form, and the book will be ordered as quickly as possible, usually within a business day or 2. The item may take up to 2 weeks to arrive, so please plan accordingly when ordering books for research projects.

Pro Tip:  Create a free WorldCat account to save lists, bibliographies, and reviews.

Find Print Books in the MSMU Libraries


Books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system.
Each book has a unique call number.
They are organized so that similar subjects are next to each other on the shelf.
When you find a book that you want in the library's catalog, write down the call number and location.

Coe Library - Chalon Campus 

3rd Floor (main level) 

  • Reference Materials
  • Course Reserves (at Circulation)
  • Best Sellers

1st Floor

  • Main Stacks A-Z
  • Oversize A-Z
  • Archives & Special Collections

McCarthy Library - Doheny Campus

1st Floor (main level)

  • Reference Materials
  • Course Reserves (at Circulation)

2nd Floor

  • Main Stacks A-Z
  • Periodicals
  • Masters' Theses

Call Number Example 

Find  RC280 .B8 L58 1980b at the Coe Library - Chalon Campus.

  • According to the chart above, R books are located on the 1st floor.
  • Go to the 1st Floor South and look for "RC" (between RB and RD).
  • Follow the numbers after the RC’s until you get to 280 (two hundred and eighty, not 2-8-0).
  • Look for all the RC280s with letters following them, and find the letter B.
  • Go to B8.
  • Look for all the RC280.B8’s, and find the letter L.
  • Go to L58 (fifty eight, not 5-8).
  • Look for the year 1980 at the end of the call number. (b)
  • There is your book!

Request Books From Other Libraries


Request books from another MSMU campus library

Campus-to-Campus Mail Delivery

  • Search the MSMU Library Catalog for the book you need. You may search by title, author, subject or keyword. 
  • If the book is available in an MSMU Library, it can be sent to either Chalon or Doheny libraries via Intercampus Mail.
  • Just ask a librarian or one of our student workers at the circulation desk to order it for you. Please allow at least 2 days for delivery.

Request books via LINK+

What is LINK+?

  • LINK+ is a combined catalog of materials belonging to the participating libraries and includes a service which allows current MSMU students, faculty and staff to borrow books from other academic and public libraries in California and Nevada.
  • MSMU Libraries’ users may only borrow books from LINK+ partners. Materials such as media and journals are searchable, but not available for borrowing.
  • LINK+ has faster delivery than traditional Interlibrary Loan. Books are delivered to both Chalon and Doheny campus libraries by courier service.

How do I request LINK+ books?

  • You can request a book using the MSMU Libraries’ online catalog, which connects to the LINK+ catalog. 
  • Library users may also go directly to the LINK+ catalog here.
  • All LINK+ users must have a current library card, free of fines, to use the service.

How long can I borrow LINK+ books?

  • The loan period is 21 days with one renewal. You may renew your books and monitor the status of your requests by clicking My Library Account on the MSMU Libraries’ home page. Log in using your name and library barcode to see if materials have been shipped or received.
  • Overdue LINK+ books are charged at a rate of $1/day and $115 for lost or damaged materials.

Request books from any other library
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with OCLC - WorldCat

  • Traditional Interlibrary Loan is used for books not available from one of our partner libraries in LINK+. This service must be performed by the ILL coordinator, who will request your book through OCLC Resource Sharing.
  • If you need a book that is not available from a LINK+ library, please fill out the ILL Request Form to request traditional ILL. 
  • Please allow at least two weeks for delivery. Books ordered via traditional ILL are shipped by the USPS using the media mail rate. Please plan for shipping time when doing your research.

Find eBooks


This guide will help you find and provide tips on accessing eBooks: