Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Essentials for journalists and journalism students.
Provides access to the five top US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
The Associated Press Stylebook 2018 by Putting articles in context with facts, figures, biographies, and historic information.
In-depth coverage of important issues of the day. Reports are written by professional journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research, some graphics and photos are included.
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, data analysis for the social sciences, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Political Handbook of the World, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection.
Includes reference works, newspaper and journal articles, and rare primary source documents that range from slave journals to presidential papers.
This link opens in a new windowIncludes more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Users can search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender, as well as by keyword and full text. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Mount Saint Mary's University has a rich history in award-winning writing and journalism. All of the student publications at MSMU have been fully digitized, are downloadable and freely available to the MSMU Community.
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.
When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu
If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.
To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.
ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.
To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.