Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Books & Media

Advanced Search Google Scholar WorldCat

If you don't find the book that you want in Quick Search try searching in WorldCat. Please fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.

Search for an item in libraries near you:

Search for eBooks in:

OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:

Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.

Open Access eBooks

How to Access eBooks in Each Platform

Kanopy
LA Theatre Works

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 30,000 films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, A24 and many more.

Effective July 1, 2021, MSMU Libraries will transition to a Smart DDA model, which means that users will still have immediate access to over 10,000 films - including our currently licensed 230 films. Some Kanopy titles will be requestable through a form so please allow 24-48 hours to make these films available.

Kanopy at MSMU

What is it?

Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming service that has a broad collection of over 30,000 full-length films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, Samuel Goldwyn, PBS, and more.

How to Access Kanopy

Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device, or platform by visiting msmu.kanopy.com or downloading the Kanopy app.

How to Log in

Use your MSMU credentials to create an account, or simply start streaming.
If you are on campus, you do not need to login to start streaming.

Please help us keep costs down by exiting out of a film quickly if you don't plan to watch it. After 30 seconds of viewing, the license triggers.

If you create a Kanopy account with your MSMU credentials, you will be able to:

create clips and playlists
embed films in course websites
have access to other tools as well

Kanopy has many titles of unique educational, social, and cultural value. Enjoy!

Selected Medical Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing by Stedman's Medical Dictionary Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781608316922
Publication Date: 2011-04-21
The Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health by Jacqueline L. Longe (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414403748
Publication Date: 2006-10-03
Mosby's Drug Reference for Health Professions by Mosby
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780323077378
Publication Date: 2013-03-28

Find Print Books in the MSMU Libraries

Books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system.
Each book has a unique call number.
They are organized so that similar subjects are next to each other on the shelf.
When you find a book that you want in the library's catalog, write down the call number and location.

Coe Library - Chalon Campus

3rd Floor (main level)

Reference Materials
Course Reserves (at Circulation)
Best Sellers

1st Floor

Main Stacks A-Z
Oversize A-Z
Archives & Special Collections

McCarthy Library - Doheny Campus

1st Floor (main level)

Reference Materials
Course Reserves (at Circulation)

2nd Floor

Main Stacks A-Z
Periodicals
Masters' Theses

Call Number Example

Find RC280 .B8 L58 1980b at the Coe Library - Chalon Campus.

According to the chart above, R books are located on the 1st floor.
Go to the 1st Floor South and look for "RC" (between RB and RD).
Follow the numbers after the RC’s until you get to 280 (two hundred and eighty, not 2-8-0).
Look for all the RC280s with letters following them, and find the letter B.
Go to B8.
Look for all the RC280.B8’s, and find the letter L.
Go to L58 (fifty-eight, not 5-8).
Look for the year 1980 at the end of the call number. (b)
There is your book!

Request Books From Other Libraries

Request books from another MSMU campus library

Campus-to-Campus Mail Delivery

Search the MSMU Library Catalog for the book you need. You may search by title, author, subject or keyword.
If the book is available in an MSMU Library, it can be sent to either Chalon or Doheny libraries via Intercampus Mail.
Just ask a librarian or one of our student workers at the circulation desk to order it for you. Please allow at least 2 days for delivery.

Request books from other libraries

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with OCLC - WorldCat

Traditional Interlibrary Loan is used for books not available through the MSMU Libraries. This service must be performed by the ILL coordinator, who will request your book through OCLC WorldCat Resource Sharing.
If you need a book that is not available at MSMU, please fill out the ILL Request Form to request traditional ILL.
Please allow at least two weeks for delivery. Books ordered via traditional ILL are shipped by the USPS using the media mail rate. Please plan for shipping time when doing your research.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request Form
Use this form to request materials from the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network. (Materials otherwise unavailable to you via the MSMU Libraries Catalog)

Physical Therapy

ASK US!