Research Guides: Physical Therapy: Statistics & Data

Health Statistics

CA Department of Public Health Data & Statistics
Access to public health data and information, such as queries, resources, statistics, surveys, informatics, GIS, and health indicators.
CA Health and Human Services Open Data Portal
Non confidential health and human services data that can be easily retrieved, combined, downloaded, sorted, searched, and analyzed.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Data & Statistics
Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS). Relevant statistics are also presented.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)
Recommendations and Reports, Surveillance Summaries, Supplements, Summary of Notifiable Diseases, and Emerging Infectious Diseases. Full-text is available. The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments.
National Center for Health Statisitcs
Statistics on a wide variety of health issues in the United States including Depression and Suicide rates.
World Health Organization Statistics
The World Health Statistics series is WHO’s annual compilation of health statistics for its 194 Member States.
CDC Wonder
Access to statistical research data published by CDC, as well as reference materials, reports and guidelines on health-related topics.
Query numeric data sets on CDC's computers, via "fill-in-the blank" web pages. Public-use data sets about mortality (deaths), cancer incidence, HIV and AIDS, tuberculosis, vaccinations, natality (births), census data and many other topics are available for query, and the requested data are readily summarized and analyzed, with dynamically calculated statistics, charts and maps.

Databases for Statistics & Datasets

Statista This link opens in a new window
A tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information. Statista includes directly accessible data for 170 industries from 50 countries through The Statistics Portal, as well as industry reports, market studies, surveys, consumer market data, digital market data and more. Useful for market research and data literacy. Graphs may be downloaded in a variety of formats for inclusion in presentations and research papers.
ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts many specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Some notable collections include:
- Research Data Gov - for restricted microdata from Federal Agencies
- College and Beyond II - for studying the impact and outcomes of higher education
- SOMAR - for studying social media data
Statistical Insights (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed data sources. Includes state and federal government, business, and international statistical publications as well as statistical tables.
Rand California and US Statistics This link opens in a new window
RAND US contains nearly many social science databases covering all 50 US states. The CA collection contains these US databases, as well as detailed databases on California. Data on a wide range of factors such as health, economics, population and more. Maps and data visualizations help users explore the data.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published from 1878 to 2012, an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
re3data.org - Registry of Research Data Repositories This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It presents repositories for the permanent storage and access of data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers and scholarly institutions. Browse by subject, content types, or country.
re3data.org promotes a culture of sharing, increased access and better visibility of research data. The registry went live in autumn 2012 and is funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG).

Repository Finder
- This link opens in a new window
Repository Finder, a pilot project of the Enabling FAIR Data Project led by the American Geophysical Union (AGU) in partnership with DataCite and the Earth, space and environment sciences community, can help you find an appropriate repository to deposit your research data. The tool is hosted by DataCite and queries the re3data registry of research data repositories.

What is SPSS?

SPSS, short for Statistical Package for the Social Sciences, is used by researchers for various kinds of complex statistical data analysis. It is a software package designed to manage and analyze social science data.

The Core Functions of SPSS:

Statistics Program - has many statistical functions, including frequencies, cross-tabulation, and bivariate statistics
Modeler Program - used to build and validate predictive models
Text Analytics for Surveys Program - helps researchers uncover insights from responses to open-ended questions
Visualization Designer Program - used to create a wide variety of visuals including density charts, radial boxplots, etc.
Data Management Solutions - allows researchers to perform case selection, create derived data, and perform file reshaping

Tutorials on SPSS

For step-by-step instructions and examples, try out these tutorials:

SPSS Tutorials | Kent State University
Step-by-step tutorials for SPSS created by the Statistical Consulting Department at Kent State University.
SPSS Tutorials | London School of Economics and Political Science

Physical Therapy

Ask Us

ASK US!

Health Statistics

Databases for Statistics & Datasets

What is SPSS?

Tutorials on SPSS

Follow Us