Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Check out these tutorial / certificate programs:
Nexis Uni®: Learn the Fundamentals of Searching and Results—Level 1
Nexis Uni®: Learn the ABCs of Legal Research—Level 1
Nexis Uni®: Learn the Key Components of News Research— Level 2
In-depth coverage of important issues of the day. Reports are written by professional journalists, footnoted and fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, and resources for additional research, some graphics and photos are included.
Check out HeinOnline's new Pathfinder tool. It is useful for browsing topics at broad and granular levels. Choose text or graphical modes.
Legal history and government documents, with law-related periodicals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
An extensive collection of journals and books in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Check out Mount Saint Mary's University's digital primary source collections in JSTOR!
When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu
If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.
To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.
ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.
To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.
A discovery tool that can help you search many of the MSMU Libraries’ databases at once. With just a single keyword search, Quick Search can retrieve hundreds of thousands of books, articles, videos, dissertations, and more. It is a great way to start your research before you move on to more specific sources and databases.