Research Guides: Political Science: Books & Media

Find Books & eBooks

If you don't find the book that you want in Quick Search try searching in WorldCat. Please fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.

Search for an item in libraries near you:

Search for eBooks in:

OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:

Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.

Open Access eBooks

How to Access eBooks in Each Platform

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video resource with a broad collection of over 30,000 films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, A24 and many more.

Effective July 1, 2021, MSMU Libraries will transition to a Smart DDA model, which means that users will still have immediate access to over 10,000 films - including our currently licensed 230 films. Some Kanopy titles will be requestable through a form so please allow 24-48 hours to make these films available.

Kanopy at MSMU

What is it?

Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming service that has a broad collection of over 30,000 full-length films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, Samuel Goldwyn, PBS, and more.

How to Access Kanopy

Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device, or platform by visiting msmu.kanopy.com or downloading the Kanopy app.

How to Log in

Use your MSMU credentials to create an account, or simply start streaming.
If you are on campus, you do not need to login to start streaming.

Please help us keep costs down by exiting out of a film quickly if you don't plan to watch it. After 30 seconds of viewing, the license triggers.

If you create a Kanopy account with your MSMU credentials, you will be able to:

create clips and playlists
embed films in course websites
have access to other tools as well

Kanopy has many titles of unique educational, social, and cultural value. Enjoy!

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Reference

These resources are great for fact checking, quick and basic information, and topic overviews. They can also be a great place to start when researching a new topic that you are not familiar with. Finding basic information on a topic can help you understand what to look for in more advanced searches.

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.
"As an historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You'll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you'll also find the history of individual words, and of the language traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books."
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Online reference materials spanning 25 diverse subject areas. Includes entries from the Oxford University Press Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias, and Oxford Reference series.