Research Guides: Religious Studies: Home

News from the Vatican

Read Pope Francis I's latest Encyclical, Fratelli tutti.

Read about Fratelli tutti in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Commonweal, the National Catholic Reporter and America.

Vatican II - Voice of the Church Promotes and explains the teaching of the Second Vatican Council (1962-65)

Best Bets

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window This database combines indexing from the ATLA Religion Database (RDB) with ATLA's online full-text collection of over 600 major religion and theology journals.
Religion (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Provides primarily full-text, scholarly journals and other sources for diverse religious and spiritual studies. Covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many worldwide religions. Also includes titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window An extensive collection of journals and books in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.Check out Mount Saint Mary's University's digital primary source collections in JSTOR!

Internet Sacred Text Archive
Includes full-text of sacred texts of various world religions, such as Ba'hai, Buddhism, Islam, Judaism, Shinto and Zoroastrianism.

Spirit of the Founders and the Catholic Intellectual Tradition

Delve into the Catholic Intellectual Tradition and the history and work of the Sisters of St. Joseph Carondelet.=!

For serendipitous learning, browse the Coe Library stacks (on the 1st floor) or the McCarthy Library stacks (on the second floor) for books written by and about Catholic intellectuals. Look in BX4700 or BX4705 or search the online catalog for specific titles and/or thinkers.

Spirit of the Founders
by MSMU Libraries Last Updated Aug 27, 2024 17 views this year

The Catholic Intellectual Tradition
by MSMU Libraries Last Updated Sep 4, 2024 88 views this year

CSJ Collection - Books A semi-comprehensive list of all the books in the CSJ collection in the Institute. Non-Circulating!
Newman Collection @ MSMU, LA Located in the Archives (on the first floor of the Coe Library), the Newman Collection books are non-circulating.
more...less...
Browse while in the library and feel free to request copies from Link+ or Interlibrary Loan as needed.
Great Thinkers A-K Compiled by the Catholic Research Resources Alliance
Great Thinkers L-Z Compiled by the Catholic Research Resource Alliance

Weekly & Semiweekly Newspapers and Magazines

Access World News - Religion Topics
Suggested research topics for aspects of Religion in news sources
America: Jesuit Review of Faith and Culture
Read the latest issue online or check out the print issue in the Coe and McCarthy Libraries (from 1909 to the present..
Tablet UK
Read the latest issue online or check out earlier issues in the McCarthy Library stacks.
Angelus: Catholic News from the L.A. Archdiocese
Read the latest issue online or check out earlier issues in the Coe Library stacks. We also have issues of Tidings (Angelus' predecessors) from 2011-2016.
National Catholic Reporter
Authoritative national newspaper covering the Catholic Church from a progressive perspective. Available via ProQuest from 1991 to the Present. Also available in print at the Coe Library.
National Catholic Register
National newspaper covering Catholic issues from a point of view that tends orthodox. Read current issues online or browse the last three years' worth of print issues in the Coe Library.

Interdisciplinary News Sources

Access World News This link opens in a new window This database includes over 12,000 international and national news sources, representing 200 countries and more than 8 languages. There are over 300 California newspapers, too. Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources.Access California News Sources here.
New York Times This link opens in a new window NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, podcasts, newsletters, live events and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. The New York Times is also available in SpanishAccount Activation Link 
Search for and select "Mount Saint Mary's University - Los Angeles, CA.” Click “Create account” and use your @msmu.edu email. You will receive a verification email from NYTimes with a clickable url. Please verify your MSMU status. Students must enter a graduation year. when prompted. NY Times' Privacy statement: "Authorized Users, upon accessing NYT digital products, are subject to the NYT Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. For information on reproducing New York Times content, permissions, linking, privacy policy, and Terms of Service, please click the links below. The Terms of Service and Privacy Policy do not apply to the Participating Institution but only to its Authorized Users." http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/permissions/permissions.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/linking/linking.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/privacy/policy/privacy-policy.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/privacy/policy/privacy-policy.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/terms/terms-of-service.html
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window While the Wall Street Journal focuses on business related topics and financial information, this semi-daily newspaper includes articles on political, medical, educational and arts news.Activation link
Subscription includes access to wsj.com, wsj mobile app, informative podcasts and curated newsletters.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Coverage of the online version of the Washington Post from May 2016 to the present. Click "Create Alert" or "Create RSS Feed" to be updated via email/feed reader whenever new articles are added.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Coverage to the online version of the Los Angeles Times from February 21, 2017 to the Present. Click "Create Alert" or "Create RSS Feed" to be updated via email/feed reader whenever new articles are added.

Logging In

Trouble Logging In From Off-Campus?

When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. If there is a problem with the login screen, please contact us at library@msmu.edu

If you have questions about resetting your password, please use the Password Management Application (AMP) or contact the MSMU IT HelpDesk.

Logging In for Database Access

ACCESS TO DATABASES

To access the databases, journal articles, and eBooks, you will be prompted to log in with your MSMU credentials. Sorry, we cannot offer off-campus database access to alums.

ACCESS TO PRINT MATERIALS (BOOKS & JOURNALS)
You must be registered as a library user, and have a library barcode on your Campus ID to check out books. To register as a library user, you must be a currently enrolled MSMU student, faculty or staff member.

To register, visit the MSMU library on either campus and fill out and return the patron registration form or fill out the library card application form below.

Activate My Library Account
For MSMU students, faculty, and staff: Fill out this form to activate your MSMU Library Account. We will activate your account with your University ID, which gives you the ability to check out books and request items through interlibrary loan.

Religious Studies

Ask Us

ASK US!