Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
MLA
Author. English title, Latin title (if applicable). Publisher, Date.
In-text: (Evangelium Vitae par. 4)
Bibliography: John, Paul II. Encyclical Letter Evangelium Vitae. United States Catholic Conference, 1995.
Turabian
Author. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, date.
Bibliography: Catholic Church and John Paul II. Encyclical Letter Evangelium Vitae. Washington, D.C.: United States Catholic Conference, 1995.
Chicago
Author. Latin title. English title. Source. date. URL
Footnote: 1. John Paul II,Evangelium vitae, Encyclical letter on the value and inviolability of human life, Vatican Web site, March 25, 1995, http://www.vatican.va/edocs/ENG0141/_INDEX.HTM, sec. 97.
Bibliography: John Paul II.Evangelium Vitae. Encyclical letter on the value and inviolability of human life. Vatican Web site. March 25,1995. http://www.vatican.va/edocs/ENG0141/_INDEX.HTM.
MLA
In-text: (Ex. 11:3)
Bibliography: The New Oxford Annotated Bible: With the Apocryphal/Deuterocanonical Books, New Revised Standard Version. Michael D. Coogan, editor. Oxford UP, 2001.
APA
In-text: (Deut. 5:5 Women's Devotional Bible)
Turabian
In-Text: (1 Cor. 6-10 New Revised Standard Version)
Footnote: 1. Ps. 139:13-16 (NRSV)
Chicago
In-Text: (1 Cor. 6-10 New Revised Standard Version)
Footnote: 1. Ps. 139:13-16 (NRSV)
** The Bible does not need to be listed in the bibliography in APA, Turabian or Chicago.
The Chicago Manual of Style includes 2 documentation styles: the Notes-Bibliography System (NB), used by those in literature, history, and the arts, and the Author-Date System, which is similar in content, slightly different in form, and preferred in the social sciences.
In addition to consulting The Chicago Manual of Style (16th ed.) for more information, students may also find it useful to consult Kate L. Turabian's Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (8th ed.). Often called the "Turabian" style, it resembles the two patterns of documentation but includes alterations geared to papers written by students.
Quick reference and examples can be found below in these guides created by several other universities:
The Chicago Manual of Style by The Modern Language Association (MLA) provides a method for source documentation that is used in most humanities courses. The humanities place emphasis on authorship, so most MLA citations involve recording the author’s name in the physical text. The author’s name is also the first to appear on the “Works Cited” page at the end of an essay.
Quick reference and examples can be found below in these guides created by several other universities:
MLA Handbook by Organizing your sources from the beginning as you collect them, can SAVE A LOT OF STRESS later when you need to start writing or create an annotated bibliography!
Citation management programs such as Zotero can help you create, gather, store, and organize citations.
Create a free account and get started today!
Zotero
Zotero is a free and open-source program that anyone can use, therefore, you will retain access to it even after graduation!
For more info about using Zotero check out this guide from CSU Dominguez Hills.
An annotated bibliography is a list of citations to books, articles, and documents. Each citation is followed by a brief (usually about 150 words) descriptive or evaluative paragraph called the annotation. The purpose of the annotation is to inform the reader of the relevance, accuracy, and quality of the sources cited.
Researching, arguing a position, laying the foundation for scientific experiments, and all other academic pursuits begin with studying the work of others and using this work to inform our own. It is absolutely crucial to give credit to those whose work you use, and this is done using direct quotations and paraphrasing and by always citing your sources. Not to do so would be considered plagiarism. Plagiarism and other forms of academic dishonesty are treated as extremely serious violations of ethical conduct and may result in suspension or expulsion from the University.
A quote is the exact wording used by the original author.
Example:
Paraphrasing is rewriting another's words or ideas in your own words, often summarizing or synthesizing a larger text.
Example:
For more information view these guides on quoting and avoiding plagiarism:
