Research Guides: Women's Studies: Articles

Databases for Women's Studies

GenderWatch (ProQuest)
A database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With full-text articles that date back to 1970, GenderWatch is a repository of historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and government reports.
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Various resources on women's issues including: Biographies, Book Reviews, Columns, Editorials, Instructional content, Interviews, Media Reviews, Personal Overview/Profiles, Personal Stories, Speech/Address, and Research articles.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Documents the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations, and the struggle for women’s rights, from the 19th century to the present.
Includes primary source material on the study of women’s suffrage; the feminist movement; the men’s movement, the workplace; education; the body; conduct and politeness; and domesticity and the family from a gendered perspective.

The collection includes records from men’s and women’s organizations and pressure groups, advice literature and etiquette books, and personal diaries and correspondence. Also includes visual material such as photographs, illustrations, posters, scrapbooks, and objects.
The Women’s Library Suffrage Banners
Selected digitized images of banners from the Women’s Library collection, housed at London School of Economics Library. Created between 1908 and 1920, these banners were used by suffrage campaigners on marches and at other events.
Browse additional Open Community Collections
JSTOR
An extensive collection of journals and books in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Check out Mount Saint Mary's University's digital primary source collections in JSTOR!
SocINDEX (EBSCO)
Sociology research database featuring more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus.
Sociological Collection (EBSCO)
Access to full text and peer-reviewed journals in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. Updated daily.

Top Journals on Women and Gender

Gender and Society
a peer-reviewed publication emphasizing theory and research from micro- and macrostructural perspectives, Gender & Society promotes both the study of gender and feminist scholarship.
Sex Roles
A behavioral science journal with a feminist perspective. It publishes original research reports and review articles that illuminate the underlying processes and consequences of gender role socialization, gendered perceptions and behaviors, and gender stereotypes. Topics of articles might include body image, violence against women, or intimate partner violence, gender role socialization; social influences on stereotypes; the acquisition, maintenance, and impact of stereotypes; effects of contemporary social change (sociocultural as well as economic, legal, and political systems); gendered physical and mental health concerns; gender issues in employment and work environments; interpersonal relationships; sexual orientation and identity.
Signs
Signs publishes pathbreaking articles of interdisciplinary interest addressing gender, race, culture, class, nation, and/or sexuality either as central focuses or as constitutive analytics; symposia engaging comparative, interdisciplinary perspectives from around the globe to analyze concepts and topics of import to feminist scholarship; retrospectives that track the growth and development of feminist scholarship, note transformations in key concepts and methodologies, and construct genealogies of feminist inquiry; and new directions essays, which provide an overview of the main themes, controversies.
Psychology of Women Quarterly
(PWQ) is a feminist journal that publishes primarily qualitative and quantitative research with substantive and theoretical merit, along with critical reviews, theoretical articles, and invited book reviews related to the psychology of women and gender. Topics include career choice and training; management and performance variables; education; lifespan role development and change; physical and mental health and well-being; physical, sexual, and psychological abuse; violence and harassment; prejudice and discrimination; psychobiological factors; sex-related comparisons; sexuality, sexual orientation, and heterosexism; social and cognitive processes; and therapeutic processes.

Find A Specific Article

Need to find a specific article that you have a citation, title, or author for?

1: Know the Journal Title? Search E-Journals

Virtually all journals that MSMU has full-text access to online are indexed in our E-Journal search. Simply type in the title, hit search, and you will find all the databases where you can access the journal.

2: Only Have the Article Title? Try Google Scholar

If you don't have the full citation, try using Google Scholar to find the article. Check out Google Scholar Search Tips here.

3: Can't Find it Anywhere? Request it through Article Request (Document Delivery)

If you cannot find the article using the first 2 steps, we probably do not have immediate full-text access to the article, but that doesn't mean that we cannot get it for you! Try requesting it through Document Delivery.

Articles are usually delivered within 2-3 business days.

Women's Studies

Ask Us

ASK US!