Skip to main content

Find Articles

Your guide to finding articles for your research.

How do I start?


The way to find journal articles from the MSMU Libraries is to search one or more of our subscription databases.

Visit the Databases A-Z research guide and sort by subject or database type to find the database you need. From there you can access many excellent single and multi-subject, interdisciplinary databases to begin an article search.

Where is a good place to start?


Visit ProQuest, EBSCOhost and JSTOR to start! 

Follow the links to the databases, or use the search boxes located below.

  • ProQuest provides a collection of scholarly, popular, and newspaper articles, many in full text. It includes full coverage of the Los Angeles Times, a large collection of full text nursing journals, and an international business database called ABI/Inform.
  • EBSCOhost will search across all of EBSCO's databases in a wide range of academic subjects. 
  • JSTOR will provide access to an extensive archive of journals in 30 subject disciplines in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, the history and study of art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.

Quick Search Logo

Search MSMU Libraries for articles

 

Search Tips: Basic Searching in EBSCO


To create a Basic Search:

  1. Enter your search terms in the Find field on the Basic Search screen.

  2. Click the Search Options link, if you would like to use any of the optional Limiters or Expanders. To close the Search Options, click the link again.

  3. Select a specific search mode, such as "Find all of my search terms," or "SmartText Searching."

  4. Apply Limiters such as Full Text or Publication type; or use search options that expand your search, such as "Apply related words." 

  5. Click the Search button. The Result List displays.

  6. The search field is displayed above the Result List. Your search terms, limiters and expanders are retained.  

  7. To revise your search, you can apply the limiters under Limit To on the left or click the Show More link to view all available limiters.

 

Research databases
Limit Your Results
JSTOR Logo
Search for Articles, Books, and more in JSTOR

Search Tips: Basic Searching in JSTOR

Using the Basic Search

Place words within quotation marks to search for exact phrases (“to be or not to be”).

Use Boolean operators to construct a better search (“tea trade” AND china).


 


Search Tips: Basic Searching in ProQuest

  • Use "quotation marks" to search for exact phrases.
  • Separate terms with OR to find any of your search terms.

Full text 
Checking the Full text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full text.

Peer reviewed
Checking the Peer reviewed limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in peer reviewed journals. Peer reviewed journals are a subset of scholarly journals and are defined as journals that undergo a review process where other experts (peers) in the field review the work before it is published in the journal. Peer reviewed journals are also commonly known as refereed journals.


 

 

 

 

With Google Scholar you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.


Search Google Scholar from here:


Be sure to link Google Scholar to the MSMU Library to get free access to many library resources.

To do this from the Google Scholar homepage:

  • Click on Settings in the upper-right corner, or from the menu
  • Click on "Library Links" on the left
  • Type in "MSMU" or "Mount Saint Mary's"
  • Then check the box that says "MSMU Library- Full-Text @ MSMU"
  • Now your results will link to the MSMU libraries' resources. 

Once you are connected to MSMU you will see Library Links on the right hand side.

Loading ...

Multi-Subject Databases


Search these databases to find scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, and news on a broad range of subjects. 

Pro tip: If you are looking for scholarly or peer reviewed articles, most databases have a search limiter you can select to narrow to only scholarly/peer reviewed. Look for this option to narrow your search. 

Trouble accessing the article you need?


Fill out a Document Delivery Request Form and we will send you your article as soon as we can!