Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
The way to find journal articles from the MSMU Libraries is to search one or more of our subscription databases.
Visit the Databases A-Z research guide and sort by subject or database type to find the database you need. From there you can access many excellent single and multi-subject, interdisciplinary databases to begin an article search.
Visit ProQuest, EBSCOhost, and JSTOR to start!
Follow the links to the databases, or use the search boxes located below.
Enter your search terms in the Find field on the Basic Search screen.
Click the Search Options link, if you would like to use any of the optional Limiters or Expanders. To close the Search Options, click the link again.
Select a specific search mode, such as "Find all of my search terms," or "SmartText Searching."
Apply Limiters such as Full Text or Publication type; or use search options that expand your search, such as "Apply related words."
Click the Search button. The Result List displays.
The search field is displayed above the Result List. Your search terms, limiters and expanders are retained.
To revise your search, you can apply the limiters under Limit To on the left or click the Show More link to view all available limiters.
Using the Basic Search
Place words within quotation marks to search for exact phrases (“to be or not to be”).
Use Boolean operators to construct a better search (“tea trade” AND china).
Full-Text
Checking the Full-text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full-text.
Peer-Reviewed
Checking the Peer-reviewed limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in peer-reviewed journals. Peer-reviewed journals are a subset of scholarly journals and are defined as journals that undergo a review process where other experts (peers) in the field review the work before it is published in the journal. Peer-reviewed journals are also commonly known as refereed journals.
With Google Scholar you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Search Google Scholar from here:
To do this from the Google Scholar homepage:
Search these databases to find scholarly peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, and news on a broad range of subjects.
PRO TIP
If you are looking for scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, most databases have a search limiter you can select to narrow to only scholarly/peer-reviewed. Look for this option to narrow your search, there will most likely be a box for you to check.
Database spanning a broad stretch of academic subjects with thousands of full-text journals, as well as abstracted and indexed journals.
An extensive collection of journals and books in the Arts and Sciences, including classical studies, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, mathematics, music, art and architecture, cultural studies, film, folklore, performing arts, philosophy, political science, sociology, and religion.
Check out Mount Saint Mary's University's digital primary source collections in JSTOR!
Search across all of EBSCO's databases in a wide range of academic disciplines.
Collection of databases in the following academic disciplines: News & Newspapers, The Arts, Business, Health & Medicine, History, Literature & Language, Science & Technology, and Social Sciences.
Search across all of Gale's databases in areas such as literature, current events, religion, history, philosophy, and health.
Broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It includes journal articles, online books, reference works, laboratory protocols, and databases.
Fill out an Article Request (Document Delivery) Form and we will send you your article as soon as we can!
