Make an Appointment
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
"The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. An established resource for the chemistry community, The ACS Style Guide is not just a resource for ACS authors, but is referenced by other publishers, even beyond chemistry, within their instructions to authors and is used as a resource in teaching students how to effectively communicate scientific information."
Source: The ACS Style Guide
Author, A. A.; Author, B. B. Book Title (italics), Edition (if any); Publisher: Place of Publication, Year; Pagination.
Author, A. A; Author, B. B; Author, C. C. Title of Article. Journal Abbreviation (italics) [Online if online] Year (boldface), Volume (italics), Pagination.
The standard list of journal abbreviations is listed at CASSI, the Chemical Abstracts Services Source Index.
Author, A. A. (if any). Title of Site. URL (accessed date), other identifying information. (No need to include URL of subscription sites).
The standard list of journal abbreviations is listed at CASSI, the Chemical Abstracts Services Source Index.
| ONLINE PERIODICAL TYPE | EXAMPLE |
| Based on Print Editions | Fine, L. Einstein Revisited. J. Chem. Educ. [Online] 2005, 82, 1601 ff. http://jchemed.chem.wisc.edu/Journal/ Issues/2005/Nov/abs1601.html (accessed Oct 15, 2005). |
| Published in advance of print issue | Pratt, D. A.; van der Donk, W. A. Theoretical Investigations into the Intermediacy of Chlorinated Vinylcobalamins in the Reductive Dehalogenation of Chlorinated Ethylenes. J. Am. Chem. Soc. [Online early access]. DOI: 10.1021/ja047915o. Published Online: Dec 8, 2004. http://pubs.acs.org/cgi-bin/asap.cgi/ jacsat/asap/html/ja047915o.html (accessed Dec 8, 2004). |
| Retrieved from a database provider | Hallet, V. Scanning the Globe for Organic Chemistry. U.S. News and World Report [Online], April 19, 2004, p 59. Business Source Premier. http://www.epnet.com/academic/ bussourceprem.asp (accessed April 24, 2005). |
| Published only electronically | Zloh, M.; Esposito, D.; Gibbons, W. A. Helical Net Plots and Lipid Favourable Surface Mapping of Transmembrane Helices of Integral Membrane Proteins: Aids to Structure Determination of Integral Membrane Proteins. Internet J. Chem. [Online] 2003, 6, Article 2. http://www.ijc.com/articles/ 2003v6/2/ (accessed Oct 13, 2004). |
| From preprint servers | Ward, D. W.; Nelson, K. A. Finite Difference Time Domain (FDTD) Simulations of Electromagnetic Wave Propagation Using a Spreadsheet. 2004, arXiv:physics/0402096. arXiv.org e-Print archive. http://arxiv.org/abs/physics/0402096 (accessed Oct 13, 2004). |
| ONLINE BOOK TYPE | EXAMPLE |
| Online books WITH Editors | Oleksyn, B. J.; Stadnicka, K.; Sliwinski, J. Structural Chemistry of Enamines: A Statistical Approach. In The Chemistry of Enamines [Online]; Rappoport, Z., Ed.; The Chemistry of Functional Groups; Patai, S., Rappoport, Z., Series Eds.; Wiley & Sons: New York, 1994; Chapter 2, pp 87–218. http://www3.interscience.wiley.com/cgi-bin/ summary/109560980/SUMMARY (accessed April 24, 2005). |
| Online books WITHOUT Editors | Tour, J. M. Molecular Electronics: Commercial Insights, Chemistry, Devices, Architecture and Programming [Online]; World Scientific: River Edge, NJ, 2003; pp 177–180. http://legacy. netlibrary.com/ebook_info.asp?product_id=91422&piclist =19799,20141,20153 (accessed Nov 7, 2004). |
| ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS | EXAMPLE |
| Online encyclopedias | Alkanolamines from Nitro Alcohols. Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology [Online]; Wiley & Sons, Posted March 14, 2003. http://www.mrw.interscience.wiley.com/kirk/ articles/alkaboll.a01/frame.html (accessed Nov 7, 2004). |
| OTHER ONLINE SOURCE TYPES | EXAMPLE |
| General Web sites | ACS Publications Division Home Page. http://pubs.acs.org (accessed Nov 7, 2004). |
| Electronic lists and newsgroups |
Chemical Information List Server, CHMINF-L@iubvm.ucs. indiana.edu (accessed Oct 13, 2004). Computational Chemistry List, solvent discussion in archived messages of September 2003, chemistry@ccl.net (accessed Nov 10, 2004). |
| Electronic mail messages | Solla, L. R. Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. Personal communication, 2005. |
| CD-ROMs and DVDs periodicals | Fleming, S. A.; Jensen, A. W. Substitutent Effects on the Photocleavage of Benzyl–Sulfur Bonds. Observation of the “Meta” Effect. J. Org. Chem. [CD-ROM] 1996, 61, 7044. |
| CD-ROMs and DVDs books | Green Chemistry: Meeting Global Challenges [DVD]; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2003. |
The standard list of journal abbreviations is listed at CASSI, the Chemical Abstracts Services Source Index.
| PRINT SOURCE TYPE | EXAMPLE |
| Journal article WITH article title | Klingler, J. Influence of Pretreatment on Sodium Powder. Chem. Mater. 2005, 17, 2755–2768. |
| Journal article WITHOUT article title | Klingler, J. Chem. Mater. 2005, 17, 2755–2768. |
| Nonscientific magazines and newspapers | Squires, S. Falling Short on Nutrients. The Washington Post, Oct 4, 2005, p H1. |
| Books WITHOUT Editors | Le Couteur, P.; Burreson, J. Napoleon’s Buttons: How 17 Molecules Changed History; Jeremy P. Tarcher/Putnam: New York, 2003; pp 32–47 |
| Books WITH Editors | Almlof, J.; Gropen, O. Relativistic Effects in Chemistry. In Reviews in Computational Chemistry; Lipkowitz, K. B., Boyd, D. B., Eds.; VCH: New York, 1996; Vol. 8, pp 206–210. |
| Series publication cited as a book | Puls, J.; Saake, B. Industrially Isolated Hemicelluloses. In Hemicelluloses: Science and Technology; Gatenholm, P., Tenkanen, M., Eds.; ACS Symposium Series 864; American Chemical Society: Washington, DC, 2004; pp 24–37. |
| Series publication cited as a journal | Puls, J.; Saake, B. ACS Symp. Ser. 2004, 864, 24–37. |
| Meeting or conference, full citation |
Garrone, E.; Ugliengo, P. In Structure and Reactivity of Surfaces, Proceedings of the European Conference, Trieste, Italy, Sept 13–20, 1988; Zecchina, A., Cost, G., Morterra, C., Eds.; Elsevier: Amsterdam, 1988. |
| Theses | Mäckel, H. Capturing the Spectra of Silicon Solar Cells. Ph.D. Thesis, The Australian National University, December 2004. |
| Patents | Sheem, S. K. Low-Cost Fiber Optic Pressure Sensor. U.S. Patent 6,738,537, May 18, 2004 |
| Government publications, U.S. | Agriculture Fact Book 2000; U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Government Printing Office: Washington, DC, 2000. |
| Technical reports and bulletins | Tschantz, B. A.; Moran, B. M. Modeling of the Hydrologic Transport of Mercury in the Upper East Fork Poplar Creek (UEFPC) Watershed; Technical Report for Lockheed Martin Energy Systems: Bethesda, MD, September 2004. |
| Material Safety Data Sheets | Titanium Dioxide; MSDS No. T3627; Mallinckrodt Baker: Phillipsburg, NJ, Nov 12, 2003. |
| Personal communications | Henscher, L. X. University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN. Personal communication, 2001. |
Visit the guide below for more help with:
