Make an Appointment
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Topic overviews, learning modules, biographies, videos, diagrams, interactive experiments and more.
Fully revised and updated, the sixth edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 4,700 entires - over 200 new to this edition - it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. Subject areas include forensics, metallurgy, materials science, and geology. There are also biographical entries on key figures, highlighted entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
Over 70,000 entries. Covers all aspects of chemistry:organic chemistry, inorganic chemistry, analytical chemistry, physical chemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry, nuclear chemistry, industrial chemistry, biochemistry, geochemistry, radiochemistry, food chemistry, metallurgical chemistry, forensic chemistry, spectroscopy, chemistry lab equipment and instruments. Useful bilingual appendices
This book provides a survey of current biochemistry and molecular biology in the form of a dictionary. It contains short but informative entries arranged under more than 17,000 head words, providing fundamental but up-to-date information that is often difficult to locate in today's overspecialized world. The book is intended as a handy reference of first resource for those seeking information outside their immediate knowledge area or for those who need to refresh their memory of fundamental knowledge.
This book presents current research in the field of chemistry. Topics discussed include crystal chemistry of an atropisomer; construction and structure of metal-organic frameworks with specific ion-exchange property; chemical sensors and biosensors; non-specific chemical gas sensor arrays for environmental monitoring of odour emissions; green analytical chemistry; microwave assisted-separations; metal-catalysed electrophilic processes in ionic liquids; development of green chemistry processes for metallocomplex catalysis and the environmental impact of a lignite-fired power plant operation.
This is a reference tool, designed to guide the reader through all the aspects of chemistry. Showing the myriad of ways in which chemistry plays a role (both seen and unseen) in our daily lives, this work also makes the foundations of chemistry accessible for the lay reader.
The Dictionary of Metals is the authoritative reference work for terms and definitions of metals and terms relating to metals. It also includes a considerable amount of history starting with the seven metals of antiquity. Each of the metallic elements has a discussion that includes the discoverer and date, the naming of the metal and its meaning, the major applications, the significance of the discovery, and physical properties. Includes a timeline of important events in the history of metals and metallurgy.
CATALOGFind print books, dissertations, and electronic books in the MSMU Libraries Catalog.
You may search by titles, authors, subjects, call numbers, words in title, ISBN and, if on reserve for a particular course, by instructor.
WorldCat
If you still don't find the book that you want, try WorldCat.org and please contact a librarian so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.
If you don't find the book that you want in the MSMU Libraries Catalog try searching in WorldCat. Please contact a librarian or fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.
(Enter title, subject, or author)
OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:
Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.
Open Access eBooks
Visit the guides below for more on books and media including how to:
