Research Guides: Chemistry & Biochemistry: Primary Sources

Primary Sources in the Sciences

Primary sources in the sciences are publications which provide a full description of original research and present the results of that research. The most common example of a primary source in the sciences is a scholarly article containing original or new research published in a peer-reviewed journal. Primary sources in the sciences include a description of the research and the results and references to other research in the field, and are factual, not interpretive. They can also take the form of more personal records and correspondence, including lab notebooks, diaries, and letters.

	Primary Source	Secondary Source
Definition	Original materials that have not been filtered through interpretation or evaluation by a second party.	Sources that contain commentary on or a discussion about a primary source.
Formats (depending on the research being conducted)	See below for thorough list, but anything which presents the findings and presents full descriptions of original research.	See below, but anything which does NOT present original results, but instead discusses, critiques or comments on original research. Necessarily comes later in the publication cycle.
Example: Scientists Studying Industrial Fertilizer	Article in scholarly journal publishing results of testing for fertilizer levels.	Newspaper editorial calling for regulations on use of industrial fertilizer.
Example of Types of Sources	Conference Papers Correspondence Dissertations Diaries Interviews Lab Notebooks Notes Patents Peer-Reviewed Scholarly Article Conference or Society Proceedings Studies or Surveys Technical Reports Theses	Criticism and Interpretation Dictionaries Encyclopedias Government Policy Guide to Literature Handbooks Law and Legislation Publications discussing Moral, Ethical or Political Aspects Publications Analysizing Public Response or Opinion Review Articles

(Source: http://research.pugetsound.edu/c.php?g=304191&p=2030252 and http://library.albany.edu/usered/dr/prisci.html)

Source Types

What are the differences between Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources?

Types of Sources	Definition	Characteristics	Examples
Primary	Original documents created or experienced concurrently with the event being researched.	First-hand observations, contemporary accounts of the event. Viewpoint of the time.	Interviews, news footage, data sets, original research, speeches, diaries, letters, creative works, photographs
Secondary	Works that analyze, assess, or interpret a historical event, an era, or a phenomenon. Generally uses primary sources.	Interpretation of information, usually written well after an event. Offers reviews or critiques.	Research studies, literary criticism, book reviews, biographies, textbooks
Tertiary	Sources that identify, locate, and synthesize primary AND secondary sources.	Reference works, collections of lists of primary and secondary sources, finding tools for sources.	Encyclopedias, bibliographies, dictionaries, manuals, textbooks, fact books

Chart created by Loyola Marymount University Library

Primary vs. Secondary

Think you know the difference between primary and secondary sources?

Take this quiz to find out!

Primary and Secondary Sources Quiz | Ithaca College Library
This quiz is designed to test (and improve!) your ability to identify primary and secondary sources. You will be presented with a number of scenarios and asked to classify sources as primary or secondary for the purposes of that situation.

Websites for Primary Sources

Online Archive of California (OAC)
Free public access to searchable collection guides (also known as finding aids) for primary resource collections in repositories maintained by more than 200 institutions throughout California, including many digitized collections.
CaliSphere
CaliSphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over 750,000 photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.
Los Angeles Public Library Images
The Los Angeles Public Library Photo Collection emphasizes the history of Los Angeles, Southern California, and California. This Internet-accessible collection is one of the treasures of the Central Library.
Los Angles Public Library Visual Collections
The LA Public Library visual collections include both local history collections and other historical collections. Includes maps, images, drawings, posters, menus, and other types of ephemera.
Imagine Santa Monica
The digital collections of the Santa Monica Public Library. The collections include the Santa Monica Image Archives, Pacific Palisades Historical Collection, Santa Monica Evening Outlook (1875-1937), Santa Monica Facts, Historical Maps of Santa Monica, and Santa Monica Newspaper Index.
County of Los Angeles Public Library Local History Web Sites
With funding from the Library Services and Technology Act administered by the California State Library, the County of Los Angeles Public Library has created local history Web sites for fifteen of its libraries. These local history Web sites provide answers to frequently asked community history questions twenty-four hours a day via the Internet. The Web sites provide information on Native Americans who lived in the area in prehistoric times, local missions and the early history of the community as well as other historical topics. They also contain images of historic community photographs and other documents, and links and citations to additional community history resources.

Civil Rights Digital Library
materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. The CRDL features a collection of unedited news film from the WSB (Atlanta) and WALB (Albany, Ga.) television archives held by the Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Awards Collection at the University of Georgia Libraries.
Cornell University Library Making of America Collection
Access to over 100,000 articles from 19th Century journals.
Digital Public Library of America
A vast project that works with many cultural heritage institutions to bring together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. The portal provides innovative ways to search and scan through the united collection of millions of items, including by timeline, map, virtual bookshelf, format, subject, and partner.
Documenting the American South
Primary resources for the study of Southern history, literature and culture through the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.
The Internet Archive
A nonprofit digital library of public domain material, including the Way Back Machine.
Library of Congress American Memory Project
written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
The National Archives
Search by topic, time period, or place. Useful research guides available to help you.
New York Public Library Digital Collections
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the New York Public Library's collection.

Digital Library of the Caribbean
Digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Digitized Manuscripts of the British Library
Use this website to view digitised copies of manuscripts and archives in the British Library’s collections, with descriptions of their contents. Highlights include: Harley Golden Gospels, Beowulf, the Silos Apocalypse, Leonardo da Vinci’s Notebook, the Petit Livre d’Amour, the Golf Book, almost 900 Greek manuscripts, The Royal Manuscripts and Botany in British India, Over fifty Thai manuscripts and the Chakrabongse Archive of Royal Letters, early Singapore manuscripts, Persian manuscripts, and Hebrew manuscripts.
Latin American Network Information Center: Digital Initiatives
Through partnerships with organizations in Latin America and globally, LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to online information on, from, or about Latin America. To this end, LANIC hosts an extensive set of digital collections covering many different topics and content areas.
World Digital Library
Search 16,561 items about 193 countries between 8000 BCE and 2000:

Databases for Historical Primary Sources

America: History and Life (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Primary bibliographic database containing citations to articles regarding historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes journals and citations of book and media reviews. Some full text is available.
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Includes Document Projects and Archives, Documents, Full Text Sources, Bibliographies, Biographies, Social Movements, Chronology, Subjects, Book Reviews, Teaching Tools, and Back Issues.
Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to voting rights activist and civil rights leader, Fannie Lou Hamer (1917-1977) spanning the time period from 1966-1978.

From the Archives Unbound collection

Primary Sources at MSMU

MSMU Digital Collections
Includes digital versions of MSMU publications, photographs, yearbooks, catalogs, newspapers and newsletters, and more.
MSMU Institutional Archives
The MSMU Archives holds selected records from administrative, academic, social and cultural sources at the Chalon and Doheny campuses.
MSMU Special Collections
Includes rare books and early editions of the Bible, theology treatises, devotional works and Classical writings, as well as 18th, 19th, and 20th century art books and literature.

Chemistry & Biochemistry

ASK US!