Make an Appointment
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Selected MSMU Libraries subscription newspaper databases:
Provides access to five newspaper and news-related ProQuest databases. Databases can be searched individually or at the same time. Also included is access to ProQuest Newsstand, which contains full-text for articles, columns, editorials, and obituaries from over 1,300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs such as the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, and more.
Provides access to the five top US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. Content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985.
A current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989. Ethnic NewsWatch is searchable in English, Spanish, and many other languages and contains more than 500,000 articles in Spanish.
Provides full-text for hundreds of US national, regional and international newspapers. Also offers television and radio news transcripts from major networks.
A collection of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text capturing historically important events. The Associated Press Images Collection is a primary source database from the Associated Press (AP), one of the oldest and largest news organizations in the world.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Check out these tutorial / certificate programs:
Nexis Uni®: Learn the Fundamentals of Searching and Results—Level 1
Nexis Uni®: Learn the ABCs of Legal Research—Level 1
Nexis Uni®: Learn the Key Components of News Research— Level 2
Use these criteria to evaluate the validity of news you encounter broadcast on the radio, tv, and online.
In an age of misinformation, false claims, and fake news, it is extremely important to verify the validity of any important information you find while conducting your research, as well as in your daily life.
"A good fact-checking site uses neutral wording, provides unbiased sources to support its claims and reliable links. Readers should apply the same critical thinking/questioning to fact-check sites.” -- Frank Baker, author of Media Literacy in the K-12 Classroom and creator of the Media Literacy Clearinghouse -- ISTE Blog - International Society for Technology in Education
Compiled and described by Jennifer Snelling for ISTE Blog.
