Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
There are a few key things to look for when you're trying to cite an article from a database:
Print journal with one author:
Author-Last name, first name. "Title of Article". Title of Journal, vol. [volume number], no. [issue number], [Month Year], pp. [page numbers].
Note -- additional authors are formatted with the first name first . (ie. Smith, Jana and Albert Jones.)
Taylor, J.M. "Cantor Reuben Rinder of San Francisco, 1887-1966". Western States Jewish History, vol. 39, 2007, pp. 223-235.
Print journal with 2 authors:
Author-Last name, first name, 2nd Author - First name Last name. "Title of Article.". Title of Journal, vol. [volume number], no. [issue number], [Month Year], pp. [page numbers]. Database name. Date retrieved (dd Month Year). [Note: where possible, include DOI number].
Note -- with three or more authors, list the 1st author followed by et. al.
Weiner, H.A., and L. Miller. "Little Synagogues Across Texas". Western States Jewish History, vol. 39, 2007, pp. 195-222.
Print magazine:
Henry, W. A., III. "Making the grade in today’s schools". Time, vol. 135, April 9, 1990, pp. 28-31.
Article accessed from a database:
Phau, Ian, and Min Teah. "Young Consumers' Motives for Using SMS and Perceptions towards SMS Advertising." Direct Marketing: An International Journal, vol. 3, no. 2, 2009, pp. 97-108. ABI Inform/Global. 03 Nov. 2011.
Online magazine from a website:
Donahue, Deirdre. "Five Reasons ‘Gatsby’ is the great American Novel." USA Today, 2013. 27 Feb 2015. www.usatoday.com/story/life/books/2013/05/07/why-the-great-gatsby-is-the-great-american-novel/2130161/.
Author-Last name, first initial(s). (Year). Title of Article. Title of Journal, volume number (issue number), page numbers.
Print journal with one author:
Taylor, J.M. (2007). Cantor Reuben Rinder of San Francisco, 1887-1966. Western States Jewish History, 39, 223-235.
Print journal with more than one author:
Weiner, H.A. & Miller, L. (2007). Little Synagogues Across Texas. Western States Jewish History, 39, 195-222.
Print magazine:
Henry, W. A., III. (1990, April 9). Making the grade in today’s schools. Time, 135, 28-31.
Author-Last name, first initial(s). (Year). Title of Article. Title of Journal, volume number (issue number), page numbers. Retrieved from Database Name or URL.
Author-Last name, first initial(s). (Year). Title of Article. Title of Journal, volume number (issue number), page numbers. DOI number
Article accessed from a database:
Muzaffar, F. & Kamran, S. (2011). SMS Advertising: Youth attitude towards perceived informativeness, irritation and credibility. Interdisciplinary Journal of Contemporary Research in Business, 3(1), 230-245. Retrieved from ABI/INFORM Global.
Article accessed from a database with a DOI number:
Pierters, R., Wedel, M., & Batra, R. (2010). The Stopping Power of Advertising: Measures and Effects of Visual Complexity. Journal of Marketing, 74(5), 48-60. doi:10.1509/jmkg.74.5.48
Online magazine from a website:
Palmer, B. (2011, August 30). The Space Station Without Us: How Long Could the International Space Station Last Without Astronauts. Slate. http://www.slate.com/id/2302760/.
Print journal with one author:
Author - Last name, first name middle name. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume (Year): page numbers.
Print journal with more than one author:
Author - Last name, first name, and Author - First name Last name. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume (year): page numbers.
Print magazine:
Martin, Steve. “Sports-Interview Shocker.” New Yorker, May 6, 2002.
Article accessed from a database:
Hlatky, Mark A., Derek Boothroyd, Eric Vittinghoff, Penny Sharp, and Mary A. Whooley. "Quality-of-Life and Depressive Symptoms in Postmenopausal Women after Receiving Hormone Therapy: Results from the Heart and Estrogen/Progestin Replacement Study (HERS) Trial." Journal of the American Medical Association 287, no. 5 (February 6, 2002), http://jama.ama-assn.org/issues/v287n5/rfull/joc10108.html#aainfo (accessed January 7, 2004).
Online magazine from a website:
Evanston Public Library Board of Trustees. “Evanston Public Library Strategic Plan, 2000–2010: A Decade of Outreach.” Evanston Public Library. http://www.epl.org/library/strategic-plan-00.html (accessed June 1, 2005).
Print journal with one author: Author - Last name, first name middle initials. "Title of Article." Journal Title volume, no. (Year): page numbers.
Print journal with more than one author: James, Earl W.T., and Lucy Danker. "Obesity in American School Children: An Epidemic." Journal of Nursing 389, no. 12 (2000): 399-405.
Print magazine: Elliott, Michael. "Gypsy Foklore Revisited." Smithsonian, March 2004, 23-29.
Article accessed online: Stem, Caroline J., James P. Lassoie, David R. Lee, and David J. Dessler. "How 'Eco' is Ecotourism? A Comparative Case Study of Ecotourism in Costa Rica." Journal of Sustainable Tourism 11, no. 4 (2003): 322-348. http://www.epnet.com/.
Article accessed online from a database: Howden, Daniel. "Polio at Mecca Sparks Fear for Muslim Thousands," Independent (London), February 12, 2005, first edition. http://www.lexisnexis.com/.
Online Magazine from a website: Sullivan, Danny. "Boolean Searching." Search Engine Watch. http://www.searchenginewatch.com/facts/article/2155991.html
Print journal with one author:
Taylor, JM 2007, 'Cantor Reuben Rinder of San Francisco, 1887-1966'. Western States Jewish History, vol. 39, no. , pp. 223-235.
Print journal with more than one author:
Weiner, HA & Miller, L 2007, 'Little Synagogues Across Texas'. Western States Jewish History, vol. 39, no. , pp. 195-222.
Print magazine:
Henry, WA 1990, 'Making the grade in today’s schools',Time, 9 April, pp. 28-31.
Article accessed from a database:
Phau, I & Teah, M 2009, 'Young Consumers' Motives for Using SMS and Perceptions towards SMS Advertising', Direct Marketing: An International Journal, vol. 3, no. .2, pp. 97-108. Available from ABI Inform/Global [03 November 2011].
Online magazine from a website:
Palmer, B 2011, 'The Space Station Without Us: How Long Could the International Space Station Last Without Astronauts', Slate 30 August. Available from <http://www.slate.com/articles/news_and_politics/explainer/2011/08/the_space_station_without_us.html> [2 December 2012].
Print journal with one author:
Aschenbrenner D.S. Children with Pulmonary Hypertension Shouldn't Receive Revatio. American Journal of Nursing. 2013; 11(1): 24.
Print journal with more than one author:
Dysvik E., Furnes B. Nursing Leadership in a Chronic Pain Management Group Approach. Journal of Nursing Management. 2012;20(2):187-95.
Article accessed from a database:
Wacker M.S., Pawasauskas J. Pain management: A practical approach to nursing education. J Contin Educ Nurs. 2002;33(4):187-189. http://search.proquest.com/docview/223314190/CA7AF19051204D0DPQ/1?accountid=12597. Accessed August 21, 2014.
Article accessed from a database with a DOI number:
Kadono N., Pavol M. J. Effects of aging-related losses in strength on the ability to recover from a backward balance loss. J Biomech. 2013;46(1):13-8. doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.jbiomech.2012.08.046.
Print journal with one author:
Aschenbrenner, D.S. Children with Pulmonary Hypertension Shouldn't Receive Revatio. American Journal of Nursing. 2013; 11(1), 24.
Print journal with more than one author:
Dysvik, E.; Furnes, B. Nursing Leadership in a Chronic Pain Management Group Approach. Journal of Nursing Management. 2012; 20(2):187-95.
Article accessed from a database:
Wacker, M.S.; Pawasauskas, J. Pain management: A practical approach to nursing education. J Contin Educ Nurs. [Online] 2002; 33(4),187-189. http://search.proquest.com/docview/223314190/CA7AF19051204D0DPQ/1?accountid=12597. (Accessed Aug 21, 2014).