Cite Your Sources

Speeches

• Author’s Last name, F.M. (Year published). Title of the article or individual page [Format]. Retrieved from URL

Lecture Notes

• In-Text citation = (Lecturer's Last name, date)
  • Example: (Smith, 2012)
• Bibliography: Author - Last name, Initial(s). (Year). Lecture title [Format]. Retrieved from Location resource site.
  • Example: Smith, J. (2012) Lecture on Literary Devices [PowerPoint slides]. Retrieved from Mount St. Mary's College Angel site.

Tweets

• Username. (Year, Month Date). Tweet text. Retrieved from URL.

Speeches

• Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of the Article or Individual Page.” Accessed date. URL.

Lectures Notes

• Footnote:  1. Author First Name Surname, "Lecture Title" (lecture, Location of Lecture, Month Day, Year of Lecture).
  • Example: 1. Smith, Jana, "Lecture on Literary Devices" (lecture, Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles, November 22, 2012).
• Bibliography: Author- Last name, First Name or Initial. "Lecture Title." Lecture, Location of Lecture, Month Day, Year of Lecture.
  • Example: Smith, Jana. "Lecture on Literary Devices." Lecture, Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles, November 22. 2012.

Tweets

• Last name, First name. Twitter Post. Month Day, Year, Time. Tweet URL.

Speeches

• Author’s Last name, First name. “Title of the Article or Individual Page.” Accessed date. URL.

Lecture Notes

• Footnote: 1. Author - First name Last name, [Lecture title] (class lecture, University name, City, State, Date).
  • Example: 1. Jana Smith, [Lecture on Literary Devices] (class lecture, Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles, CA, November 22. 2012).
• Bibliography: Author -Last Name, First Name. "Lecture title." Lecture Type, Course name from University, City, Date.
  • Example: Smith, Jana. "Lecture on Literary Devices." Class lecture, English 6A from Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles, November 22, 2012.

Tweets

• Notes only: Title of post.  Twitter post. Month day, year (time), accessed month, day, year, URL.

Speeches

Lecture Notes

• In-Text citation = (Lecturer's Last name date) 
  • Example: (Smith 2013)
• Bibliography: Author - Last name, First initial date,  Lecture Title,  Meeting or Class Name at Location on Date of Lecture [Day Month Year].
  • ​Example: Smith, J 2013, Plagiarism and How to Avoid it, lecture notes for English 6A at Mount St. Mary's College, Los Angeles on 22 November 2013.

*Note: Title can be descriptive such as "History of Buddhism" rather than a formal title.

Tweet

• Last name, First initial. (year) Tweet text [Online]. Twitter. day month. Available: URL [Accessed mm/dd/yyyy].

Lecture Notes

• Bibliography:
  • Example: Smith, J. Plagiarism and How to Avoid it. [PowerPoint]. Los Angeles: Mount St. Mary's College DPT Program; 2013.
  • Example: Smith, J. Plagiarism and How to Avoid it. [SoftChalk]. Los Angeles: Mount St. Mary's College DPT Program; 2013.

Bibles

In-text: (Deut. 5:5 Women's Devotional Bible)

Papal Encyclicals

Author. Title. Place of Publication: Publisher, date.

Bibliography: Catholic Church and John Paul II. Encyclical Letter Evangelium Vitae. Washington, D.C.: United States Catholic Conference, 1995.

Bibles

In-Text: (1 Cor. 6-10 New Revised Standard Version)

Footnote: 1. Ps. 139:13-16 (NRSV)

** The Bible does not need to be listed in the bibliography in APA, Turabian or Chicago.

Papal Encyclicals

Author. Latin title. English title. Source. date. URL

Footnote: 1. John Paul II,Evangelium vitae, Encyclical letter on the value and inviolability of human life, Vatican Web site, March 25, 1995, http://www.vatican.va/edocs/ENG0141/_INDEX.HTM, sec. 97.

Bibliography: John Paul II.Evangelium Vitae. Encyclical letter on the value and inviolability of human life. Vatican Web site. March 25,1995. http://www.vatican.va/edocs/ENG0141/_INDEX.HTM.

Bibles

In-Text: (1 Cor. 6-10 New Revised Standard Version)

Footnote: 1. Ps. 139:13-16 (NRSV)

** The Bible does not need to be listed in the bibliography in APA, Turabian or Chicago.