Research Guides: Psychology: Statistics and Data

Websites for Statistics

CA Department of Public Health Data & Statistics
Access to public health data and information, such as queries, resources, statistics, surveys, informatics, GIS, and health indicators.
CA Health and Human Services Open Data Portal
Non confidential health and human services data that can be easily retrieved, combined, downloaded, sorted, searched, and analyzed.
Data LA
Open datasets to analyze and create visualizations with from all LA agencies.
LA Homless Services Count
Data sets and service planning areas for homelessness in LA.

Bureau of Justice Statistics
Provides statistics on crime trends, homicide trends and characteristics, law enforcement management and administration.
Centers for Disease Control (CDC) Data & Statistics
Data and statistics from the CDC organized by disease.
General Social Survey (GSS)
Since 1972, the GSS has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Pew Research Center
Public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Topics range from politics, technology, social trends, religion, science, and race and ethnicity.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
The information on these statistics pages includes the best statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. It collects client level data and population data.

World Health Organization Statistics
The World Health Statistics series is WHO’s annual compilation of health statistics for its 194 Member States.

Using Statistics

Basic Statistics for Social Research by Robert A. Hanneman; Augustine J. Kposowa; Mark D. Riddle
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780470587980
Publication Date: 2012-12-04
Starting Out in Statistics by Patricia de Winter; Peter M. B. Cahusac
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781118384022
Publication Date: 2014-11-17

Khan Academy Statistics and Probability
Basic overview and practice lessons on statistics.

Statistics Databases

ICPSR - Inter-university Consortium for Political & Social Research This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts many specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Some notable collections include:
- Research Data Gov - for restricted microdata from Federal Agencies
- College and Beyond II - for studying the impact and outcomes of higher education
- SOMAR - for studying social media data
Rand California and US Statistics This link opens in a new window
RAND US contains nearly many social science databases covering all 50 US states. The CA collection contains these US databases, as well as detailed databases on California. Data on a wide range of factors such as health, economics, population and more. Maps and data visualizations help users explore the data.
Statistical Insights (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting, indexing, and full text for publications from hundreds of public domain and licensed data sources. Includes state and federal government, business, and international statistical publications as well as statistical tables.
Statistical Abstracts of the United States This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published from 1878 to 2012, an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

What is SPSS?

SPSS, short for Statistical Package for the Social Sciences, is used by researchers for various kinds of complex statistical data analysis. It is a software package designed to manage and analyze social science data.

The Core Functions of SPSS:

Statistics Program - has many statistical functions, including frequencies, cross-tabulation, and bivariate statistics
Modeler Program - used to build and validate predictive models
Text Analytics for Surveys Program - helps researchers uncover insights from responses to open-ended questions
Visualization Designer Program - used to create a wide variety of visuals including density charts, radial boxplots, etc.
Data Management Solutions - allows researchers to perform case selection, create derived data, and perform file reshaping

Tutorials on SPSS

For step-by-step instructions and examples, try out these tutorials:

SPSS Tutorials | Kent State University
Step-by-step tutorials for SPSS created by the Statistical Consulting Department at Kent State University.
SPSS Tutorials | London School of Economics and Political Science

Psychology

Ask Us

ASK US!

Websites for Statistics

Using Statistics

Statistics Databases

What is SPSS?

Tutorials on SPSS

Follow Us