Meet with a Librarian
Book a research consultation with one of your MSMU librarians!
Email Us - library@msmu.edu
Your question will be answered by a librarian within 24 hours.
Call Us
Coe - Chalon: 310.954.4370
McCarthy - Doheny: 213.477.2750
Drop In
Stop by the Circulation Desk at either library and ask in person.
Research Databases are collections of articles from a multitude of print journals and magazines as well as "born-digital" journals that researchers can find via a single interface. Each database covers different periodicals with minimum overlap.
Contains citations and abstracts of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports making it the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes limited access to linked full-text articles.
Designed for a broad audience, the MMY contains information essential for a complete evaluation of standarized tests within areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. Also included is access to Test in Print (TIP), a comprehensive bibliography of all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
Comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
This database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma. Coverage: 1871 - current
Covering a broad range of social sciences including Sociology, Psychology, Education, Communications, Gender Studies, Political Science, Linguistics, and Criminology.
Multidisciplinary database covering health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts many specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Some notable collections include:
Enter your search terms in the Find field on the Basic Search screen.
Click the Search Options link, if you would like to use any of the optional Limiters or Expanders. To close the Search Options, click the link again.
Select a specific search mode, such as "Find all of my search terms," or "SmartText Searching."
Apply Limiters such as Full Text or Publication type; or use search options that expand your search, such as "Apply related words."
Click the Search button. The Result List displays.
The search field is displayed above the Result List. Your search terms, limiters and expanders are retained.
To revise your search, you can apply the limiters under Limit To on the left or click the Show More link to view all available limiters.
Using the Basic Search
Place words within quotation marks to search for exact phrases (“to be or not to be”).
Use Boolean operators to construct a better search (“tea trade” AND china).
Full-Text
Checking the Full-text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full-text.
Peer-Reviewed
Checking the Peer-reviewed limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in peer-reviewed journals. Peer-reviewed journals are a subset of scholarly journals and are defined as journals that undergo a review process where other experts (peers) in the field review the work before it is published in the journal. Peer-reviewed journals are also commonly known as refereed journals.
With Google Scholar you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts, and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Search Google Scholar from here:
To do this from the Google Scholar homepage:
Visit the guide below for more on how to:
