Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Guide: Canvas Library Resource Integration: Instructions

Learn how to integrate library resources into Canvas

Instructions

Learn how to integrate library resources into Canvas


This guide will help you enhance your course by integrating library resources and services into your Canvas course and syllabus.

Please contact library@msmu.edu if you have questions or would like assistance in developing your course. 

Skip to a section in this guide: 

Find Course Materials


The MSMU Libraries' research collections are developed and maintained to support the curriculum. As you are designing your course, look to see what resources the library currently has to support course readings, recommended texts, and streaming media.

Quick Search Logo

Search MSMU Libraries for articles, books, and more

 

 

Find eBooks


The MSMU Libraries subscribe to several dedicated eBook collection databases and many other databases which include eBooks as part of their content. If you are not finding what you need, please contact Samantha Silver (ssilver@msmu.edu) and she will license and acquire the desired content.


Find & Use Open Access eBooks


Try an Open Access database to find literature and scholarship that is available to all. Check out our Open Educational Resources guide for more resources and information.


Find Streaming Videos


The MSMU Libraries subscribe to Kanopy, as well as many other databases that include video content. If you are not finding what you need, please contact Samantha Silver (ssilver@msmu.edu) and she will license and acquire the desired content.

 

The libraries also support course materials through:


Link to Library Resources in Canvas


Did you know? You can make most of our online library resources available to students through Canvas for easy off-campus access. You simply need to add our library proxy information to create a stable, permanent URL link to the resource. This lets library databases and vendors know that you are affiliated with MSMU and have access to those resources.

The permalink will prompt you to log in through the myMSMU portal first to verify you are an authorized user. 

The library proxy is: https://msmc.idm.oclc.org/login?url= 
Add the proxy prefix to any link to manually create a permanent URL.
Example:
https://msmc.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=cat06372a&AN=MSMU.b2103676&site=eds-live&scope=site
Note: Many of the databases will have already added the proxy for you when you locate the permalink in each record.

 


EBSCO eBooks
  1. Start in Quick Search or go directly to eBook Academic Collection (EBSCO) and locate the title of the ebook.
  2. Click on "Permalink" to create a permanent URL.
  3. You can optionally send students to a specific chapter or page within the book, by navigating to that point within the book and then clicking "Permalink."
  4. Are your students new to using ebooks? Provide a link to this tutorial: Reading EBSCO eBooks - Tutorial

ebsco permalink content book


ProQuest Ebook Central
  1. Start in Quick Search, or go directly to ProQuest Ebook Central and located the title of the desired eBook.
  2. Click on the Read Online button to open the content of the book.
  3. Next, click on the Permalink (chain) icon to create a permanent URL. You can optionally send students to a specific chapter or page within the book, by navigating to that point within the book and then clicking the Permalink icon.
  4. After clicking on the Permalink icon, a pop-up will appear with the link you need. Press Control-C to copy the link and paste it into your Canvas site.
  5. Students can Read Online directly or Download parts or all of the text for a limited time. If they choose to download they will need to download Adobe Digital Editions (free) to their personal devices.

ProQuest Ebook Central read online button to open content

share link tool for ProQuest Ebook Central


All other eBook databases

Look for a permalink, document URL, or share link. If you are having trouble please contact Samantha Silver at ssilver@msmu.edu.


EBSCO Databases

Navigate to the desired article, look for a chain icon with the word "Permalink" on the middle-right of the screen, then click on "Permalink" and copy and paste the resulting URL that generates above the article title

locating the permalink button on an article record in EBSCO


ProQuest Databases

Navigate to the desired article, click on the "Details" or "Abstract/Details" link underneath the brief article description, then scroll down to "Document URL" and copy/paste the complete link provided.

locating the share link in ProQuest under the Abstract/Details tab

locating the share link in ProQuest in the details


All other Article databases

Look for a permalink, document URL, or share link. If you are having trouble please contact Samantha Silver at ssilver@msmu.edu.


Link to a specific database using Databases A-Z
  1. Go to Databases A-Z and find the database you want to link to in Canvas.
  2. Select the "Share" icon on the right of the databases, then copy and paste the friendly URL. This URL will redirect you through the library proxy automatically.

PsycINFO database description with share button emphasized

Copy and paste this link into your web browser with https://msmu.libguides.com/ebsco-psychinfo emphasized


Kanopy
  1. Find the video you want to share in Kanopy.
  2. Select the "Share" tool then copy and paste the share link.
  3. You may also embed the video directly into Canvas using the HTML editor or experiment with creating a clip or playlist. Under ... More you can also generate a citation for the video.

Example:

Screenshot of Kanopy database, how to obtain permalink for video


All Other Streaming Databases

Visit this list:All Streaming Video Databases

Look for a permalink, document URL, or share link. If you are having trouble please contact Samantha Silver at ssilver@msmu.edu.

Link to a Print Book on Course Reserve


  1. Use the Course Reserve Request form to place an item on reserve. If you would like the libraries to purchase a copy to put on reserve you can also use the Suggest a Purchase form and indicate that it should go on course reserves.
  2. Once the book has been placed on reserve (if it is a new purchase or your personal copy) you can find it in the MSMU Libraries Catalog and add the permalink to your syllabus. This will make it easier for your students to find!
  3. Find the book record in the catalog.
  4. Click on the Permanent Link in the bottom right corner.
  5. The URL in the search bar above will change to reveal the permalink.
  6. Copy and paste that link into your Canvas course.

locating the permalink in the MSMU libraries catalog

Copyright Guidelines


When selecting and uploading course materials to Canvas, keep the following copyright and fair use considerations in mind: 

Electronic library resources 

If the article or chapter you wish to upload is content we provide access to at the library, please do not upload a PDF, as doing so likely will be in violation of our licensing agreement with the vendor. Instead, please provide a permanent link to the article in Canvas. 

Print library resources and non-library resources 

When determining whether it is permissible to upload copyrighted content to Canvas (provided you haven't explicitly obtained permission from the copyright holder), it is essential to determine whether your proposed use qualifies as Fair Use. For a full explanation of Fair Use and guidelines for determining the status of the materials you'd like to use, please see the What is Fair Use? Fair Use: 4 Factors section of the MSMU Libraries' How to Navigate Copyright guide.

 

Copyright Frequently Asked Questions


Where can I get help?

In addition to this guide, please contact Amy Sonnichsen, Assistant Director for UX & Digital Initiatives, or library@msmu.edu and we will help you as soon as we can!

How do I know if something is copyrighted?

Copyright protections are given to any original work that is “fixed in any tangible medium of expression at the work’s creation.” Facts, ideas, U.S. government works, and any work published before 1923 are considered public domain.

See: What is Covered?

How do I know whether my use of copyrighted materials is protected under the “Fair Use” clause of the Copyright Act?

Fair use is a legal doctrine that allows the public to make limited uses of copyrighted works without permission. Fair use may not be what you expect. Therefore, do not assume that a nonprofit, educational use or giving credit for the source of the work, or that limiting access to materials to students in the class creates an inherent fair use. Fair use depends on a balancing of four factors, which may be addressed by a variety of means.

See: Fair Use - 4 Factors and Fair Use Analysis Tools

Can I repost items I find on the web without having to worry about copyright? Isn’t all of that stuff in the public domain?

Many people mistakenly assume that everything posted on the Internet is in the public domain. It is vital for you to know that current copyright law gives legal protection to nearly all text, images, audiovisual recordings, and other materials that are posted on the Internet, even if the original works do not include any statement about copyright. Always give attribution.

See: How do I get permission? and Fair Use - 4 Factors and Fair Use Analysis Tools for more Fair Use Myths

Write or Update Your Syllabus


Are you updating your syllabus? Submitting a new or modified course proposal to the University Curriculum Committee?

Be sure to include a Computer & Information Literacy Statement in your syllabus!

We suggest adding a statement that lets students know how they can receive help with research and information literacy skills: 

Information Literacy:
The MSMU Libraries are here to support you with your information literacy skills. Need to do research but don't know where to start? Searching for a book, article, or data to support your argument? Not sure how to cite a source in your bibliography? Ask a librarian! Research help is available is available through email, appointments, and in-person help at the MSMU Libraries' Research Help desks at either campus. For more information and hours please see: https://www.msmu.edu/libraries/help/

Research & Subject Guides

Research guides are designed by librarians as a one-stop-shop for recommended databases and step-by-step directions for conducting research in a specific discipline. 

Find a Subject Guide, or use the Start Your Research guide for the basics, and add the Research Guide URL to your syllabus and Canvas course.

Or contact a librarian if you are interested in creating a Research Guide that is specific to your course!

How To... & FAQs

The MSMU Libraries provide resources and answers for common research questions. We are also continually adding to our FAQs - Frequently Asked Questions.

Consider including links to some of these resources in your syllabus, assignment directions, or Canvas course:

This guide has been adapted for MSMU by Amy Sonnichsen from the Library Resource Integration for Faculty Guide at CSUDH University Library.



The content in this guide is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 License.