In this course guide, one will find links to the full text and/or catalog record of plays. One will also find audio versions from the LA Theatre Works library or filmed versions of the plays. Resources include reference works about twentieth century American drama and databases containing articles, essays and interviews with playwrights.
Includes 500,000 primary texts 1,200 scholarly journals and thousands of ebooks and reference works. It also includes 1,300 video and audio recordings and the full text of 14,000 dissertations. ProQuest One Literature provides rare diverse primary sources as well as curated author/movement pages to help contextualize literary studies.
Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)
A Companion to Twentieth-Century American Drama by
This Companion provides an original and authoritative survey of twentieth-century American drama studies, written by some of the best scholars and critics in the field. Balances consideration of canonical material with discussion of works by previously marginalized playwrights Includes studies of leading dramatists, such as Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, Eugene O'Neill and Gertrude Stein Allows readers to make new links between particular plays and playwrights Examines the movements that framed the century, such as the Harlem Renaissance, lesbian and gay drama, and the solo performances of the 1980s and 1990s Situates American drama within larger discussions about American ideas and culture
Modern American Drama, 1945-2000 by
Surveys major authors who shaped postwar American drama, such as Eugene O'Neill, Tennessee Williams, Arthur Miller, Edward Albee, David Mamet, and Sam Shepard,
Cambridge Companion to American Modernism by
This volume provides an authoritative overview of the achievements of American literary modernism in its social and cultural contexts. A chronology of key events is offered, and an up-to-date bibliography of further reading.
The Bedford Handbook by 
Long Day's Journey into Night by 
A Streetcar Named Desire by 
Arthur Miller's All My Sons by Critics' choice; New York Drama Critics' Circle prize plays, 1935-55. by The American dream, and The zoo story; two plays. by 
