Research Guides: Humanities: Home

Excellent Humanities Resources

More databases are listed on the Articles page of this guide.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
One Literature (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Includes 500,000 primary texts 1,200 scholarly journals and thousands of ebooks and reference works. It also includes 1,300 video and audio recordings and the full text of 14,000 dissertations. ProQuest One Literature provides rare diverse primary sources as well as curated author/movement pages to help contextualize literary studies.

Note: ProQuest One Literature incorporates Literature Online (LION)
Gale Literature (Gale) This link opens in a new window
The (complete) Gale Literature database provides biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. It draws from a number of Gale sources: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, Children's Literature Review.
Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
The Literary Encyclopedia is a constantly evolving and updating repository of authoritative reference work about literary and cultural history.
Cambridge Histories This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Interdisciplinary News Sources

Access World News This link opens in a new window This database includes over 12,000 international and national news sources, representing 200 countries and more than 8 languages. There are over 300 California newspapers, too. Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources.Access California News Sources here.
New York Times This link opens in a new window NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, podcasts, newsletters, live events and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. The New York Times is also available in SpanishAccount Activation Link 
Search for and select "Mount Saint Mary's University - Los Angeles, CA.” Click “Create account” and use your @msmu.edu email. You will receive a verification email from NYTimes with a clickable url. Please verify your MSMU status. Students must enter a graduation year. when prompted. NY Times' Privacy statement: "Authorized Users, upon accessing NYT digital products, are subject to the NYT Privacy Policy and Terms of Service. For information on reproducing New York Times content, permissions, linking, privacy policy, and Terms of Service, please click the links below. The Terms of Service and Privacy Policy do not apply to the Participating Institution but only to its Authorized Users." http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/permissions/permissions.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/linking/linking.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/privacy/policy/privacy-policy.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/privacy/policy/privacy-policy.html http://www.nytimes.com/content/help/rights/terms/terms-of-service.html
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window While the Wall Street Journal focuses on business related topics and financial information, this semi-daily newspaper includes articles on political, medical, educational and arts news.Activation link
Subscription includes access to wsj.com, wsj mobile app, informative podcasts and curated newsletters.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window Coverage of the online version of the Washington Post from May 2016 to the present. Click "Create Alert" or "Create RSS Feed" to be updated via email/feed reader whenever new articles are added.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Coverage to the online version of the Los Angeles Times from February 21, 2017 to the Present. Click "Create Alert" or "Create RSS Feed" to be updated via email/feed reader whenever new articles are added.

Request Document Deliveries

Article Request (Document Delivery) Form
Request articles that are not available in the Library's subscription databases or print collection.

Turnaround time is 48 hrs. to 2 weeks, so please plan ahead!

Humanities

ASK US!

Quick Links

Excellent Humanities Resources

Interdisciplinary News Sources

Request Document Deliveries

Follow Us