Humanities

OED is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. A guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words past and present from across the English-speaking world.

Biographical information about authors and illustrators for children and young adults. Note: Cross-search this database with Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Literature Criticism Online.

The largest online collection (over 3,000 films!) of classical music, opera and dance videos from the 1940s to the present day. Includes over 150 live events.

Contains digital facsimile images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.

Online collection of 4,700 full-text e-books in the humanities from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Includes some open access books.

A series of over 300 eBook volumes, spanning fifteen subject areas across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music and the arts. Cambridge University Press.

Chapters can be downloaded as PDFs and are printable.

Searchable database of Greek and Latin texts with English translations. Greek and Latin literature: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians.

Includes EBSCO's previously released American Doctoral Dissertations. Available in PDF format on EBSCOhost or via links to the degree-granting institution's website. Searchable by keyword, author or title.