Research Guides: Humanities: Classical Mythology

Zeus: King of the Gods
Narrated by Sir Peter Ustinov.
Licensed through 4/29/2025.

Course Readings

The Iliad of Homer by Homer; Richmond Lattimore (Introduction by, Translator)
Call Number: PA4025.A3 L3 1961
ISBN: 0226469409
Publication Date: 1961-06-01
Print version in the Doheny Stacks | Online in the Loeb Classical Library
The Odyssey by Homer
ISBN: 0679728139
Online in the Loeb Classical Library
The Aeneid by Robert Fitzgerald (Translator); Virgil
Call Number: PA6807.A5 F548 1983
ISBN: 0394528271
Publication Date: 1983-09-12
Print version in the Doheny Stacks | Online in the Loeb Classical Library
Metamorphoses by Ovid; Rolfe Humphries (Translator)
ISBN: 9780253033703
Publication Date: 2018-04-13
Online in JSTOR EBA Collection | Online in the Loeb Classical Library

The Oresteian Trilogy by Aeschylus; Philip Vellacott (Translator, Introduction by, Notes by)
Call Number: PA3827.A7 M7 1961a
ISBN: 0140440674
Publication Date: 1956-12-30
Print version in the Doheny Campus Library | Online in the Loeb Classical Library
Oedipus Tyrannos by Sophocles; Emily R. Wilson
Call Number: PA4414.O7 W55 2022
ISBN: 9780393655148
Publication Date: 2021-06-08
For the full text of Oedipus in English and the original language, check out Loeb Classical Library
Antigone by Sophocles
Call Number: PA4414.A7 T7
Publication Date: 1962
Print with Oedipus the King (Doheny Stacks) | Online in the Loeb Classical Library

Classical Mythology
An article from the Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature.
Perseus Digital Library
Bulfinch's Mythology

Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window Searchable database of Greek and Latin texts with English translations. Greek and Latin literature: Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians.
The Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with ease.

Encyclopedia Mythica
Briefly explore a multitude of mythologies and folklore from around the world. Provides short articles with some bibliographic content.
God Checker
A guide to gods, goddesses and spirits from mythology around the world.
Catalog Search for Mythology
Includes a list of all print books in the MSMU Libraries indexed with the subject "Mythology."