Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Start Your Research

Just starting your research? Review the basics here.

How-To Guides

Find Books & eBooks

Quick Search Logo

Search MSMU Libraries for Books & eBooks

 


MSMU Libraries Logo CATALOG

 

Find print booksdissertations, and electronic books in the MSMU Libraries Catalog.
You may search by titlesauthorssubjectscall numberswords in 
titleISBN and, if on reserve for a particular course, by instructor.

THEN TRY...

LINK+

If you don't find the book that you want, the MSMU Libraries Catalog allows you to search LINK+  for other libraries that have the book and can send it to you via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

WorldCat
If you still don't find the book that you want, try WorldCat.org and please contact a librarian so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.

 

Chrome users: If you are having trouble requesting materials, please clear your cache and try again.

Search LINK+ for books in over 45 other libraries!

WorldCat

If you don't find the book that you want in the MSMU Libraries Catalog or LINK+ try searching in WorldCat. Please contact a librarian or fill out an ILL Materials Request form so that we can help you search the broader Interlibrary Loan (ILL) network and request any materials you may need.

Search for an item in libraries near you: 

(Enter title, subject, or author)

Google Book Search

Search for eBooks in: Quick Search Logo

OR if you prefer, you can search for eBooks in each individual database listed below:

Browse eBooks by subject or use the Advanced Search or Advanced features to find books by title, subject, keyword-in-text, or author.


Open Access eBooks


How to Access eBooks in Each Platform

MSMU Libraries Catalog

Search the MSMU Libraries Catalog for books!

MSMU Libraries Catalog logo

 


Search by Keyword, Subject, Title, Author, Call Number or ISBN.

Why use Advanced Search?

Advanced Search is helpful when you need to use more than one search term or need more detailed search options than those offered in the basic keyword search box. Advanced Search allows you to:

  • Search the catalog using multiple key phrases
  • Filter by date, language, and format

Multiple Search Bars

Advanced Search allows you to use multiple search bars together. You can search by title, journal title, author, subject, call number, ISBN/ISSN, publisher, series, year of publication and table of contents. This is helpful if you want to do, for example, an author search on one line and a keyword search on the next line.

Advanced search terms image

Filters or Limits

There are several options for you to narrow or limit your advanced search, highlighted in the screen shot below, and listed here:

  • Library Location
  • Material Type (e.g. archives, music, printed matl = books, etc.)
  • Language 
  • Publication Date Range (in years)
  • Search by Publisher name
  • Searches are automatically sorted by relevance

advanced search box image

Search Tips

Wildcards

Words may be right-hand truncated using an asterisk ('*') in place of other characters. The '*' wildcard may also be embedded in a search string. You may use '?' to replace a single character anywhere within a word.
Examples : environment* polic*, wom?n

Boolean Operators

Use "and" or "or" to specify multiple words in any field, any order. Use "and not" to exclude words.
Example : stocks and bonds
Example : (alaska or canada) and (adventure and not vacation)

Field Limits

A field limit causes the system to search only the specified field for the specified word(s).

Grouping

Keyword search results are usually grouped by relevance to bring the most likely titles to the top of the list. Each group represents a similar level of relevance and results are sorted within the group by date or title. To get an ungrouped result set, use boolean operators to form a complex query.

Search by Instructor or Course

Under (More Searches) on the right side of the MSMU Libraries Catalog

More Searches Image

Search by:

 

More Searches

Under (More Searches) on the right hand side in the catalog:

Use the catalog to search by:

 

Find Streaming Media

Kanopy at MSMU


What is it?

Kanopy is an on-demand film streaming service that has a broad collection of over 30,000 full-length films on a multitude of subjects from leading producers/distributors, such as Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, New Day Films, Samuel Goldwyn, PBS, and more.

How to Access Kanopy

Films can be streamed from any computer, television, mobile device, or platform by visiting msmu.kanopy.com or downloading the Kanopy app.

How to Log in 

  • Use your MSMU credentials to create an account, or simply start streaming.
  • If you are on campus, you do not need to login to start streaming. 

Please help us keep costs down by exiting out of a film quickly if you don't plan to watch it. After 30 seconds of viewing, the license triggers.

If you create a Kanopy account with your MSMU credentials, you will be able to: 

Kanopy has many titles of unique educational, social, and cultural value. Enjoy! 

How to access eBooks in each platform


ProQuest Ebook Central Books

  • ProQuest books may be read online in your browser
  • ProQuest books may be downloaded to your computer for a total of 14 days
  • To download books, you must create an account with ProQuest Ebook Central (after you connect to their website through the MSMU link).
  • Then, download Adobe Digital Editions

EBSCO eBooks

  • FAQ for EBSCO eBooks
  • EBSCO eBooks may be read online in your browser or downloaded to your computer
  • Just click the book's link from our MSMU catalog or the EBSCO eBooks page
  • You may print (or save as a pdf file) up to 60 pages at a time [depending on the publisher]
  • You may also create an EBSCO account through MSMU & save books to a folder so you access your books another time
  • You may download the book, when logged into your EBSCO account, to Adobe Digital Editions 

Springer eBooks

  • Springer eBooks may be downloaded as DRM-free pdf files in their entirety or as separate chapters
  • This downloading feature is for only one person and you will not be able to share the file with others
  • Each person must download their own copy of these books

Wiley eBooks

  • Wiley eBooks may be downloaded by chapters as pdf files for reading in your browser, printing or saving
  • Each file is meant for the eyes of the person downloading it and cannot legally be shared with another person
  • Each person must download their own copy of these books

Digitalia eBooks

  • Digitalia eBooks are viewable in a pdf reader.  Books may be viewed in Acrobat or downloaded (for a limited amount of time) as Digital Editions files.
  • To save files, select "print" from the left menu and print to a pdf creator.  Note - printing is limited to ~10 pages per session.
  • These books are also available in audio format

Loeb Classics

  • Books from the Loeb Classical Library may be viewed in any web browser
  • Books may be viewed as a two page spread (for Latin and Greek books, this shows the Latin/Greek on one side and English on the other)
  • Printing (and saving) is on a page by page basis; you may not print multiple pages at the same time

Find Print Books in the MSMU Libraries


Books in the library are organized according to the Library of Congress classification system.
Each book has a unique call number.
They are organized so that similar subjects are next to each other on the shelf.
When you find a book that you want in the library's catalog, write down the call number and location.

Coe Library - Chalon Campus 

3rd Floor (main level) 

  • Reference Materials
  • Course Reserves (at Circulation)
  • Best Sellers

1st Floor

  • Main Stacks A-Z
  • Oversize A-Z
  • Archives & Special Collections

McCarthy Library - Doheny Campus

1st Floor (main level)

  • Reference Materials
  • Course Reserves (at Circulation)

2nd Floor

  • Main Stacks A-Z
  • Periodicals
  • Masters' Theses

Call Number Example 

Find  RC280 .B8 L58 1980b at the Coe Library - Chalon Campus.

  • According to the chart above, R books are located on the 1st floor.
  • Go to the 1st Floor South and look for "RC" (between RB and RD).
  • Follow the numbers after the RC’s until you get to 280 (two hundred and eighty, not 2-8-0).
  • Look for all the RC280s with letters following them, and find the letter B.
  • Go to B8.
  • Look for all the RC280.B8’s, and find the letter L.
  • Go to L58 (fifty eight, not 5-8).
  • Look for the year 1980 at the end of the call number. (b)
  • There is your book!

Request Print Books

Request Books From Other Libraries


Request books from another MSMU campus library

Campus-to-Campus Mail Delivery

  • Search the MSMU Library Catalog for the book you need. You may search by title, author, subject or keyword. 
  • If the book is available in an MSMU Library, it can be sent to either Chalon or Doheny libraries via Intercampus Mail.
  • Just ask a librarian or one of our student workers at the circulation desk to order it for you. Please allow at least 2 days for delivery.

Request books via LINK+

What is LINK+?

  • LINK+ is a combined catalog of materials belonging to the participating libraries and includes a service which allows current MSMU students, faculty and staff to borrow books from other academic and public libraries in California and Nevada.
  • MSMU Libraries’ users may only borrow books from LINK+ partners. Materials such as media and journals are searchable, but not available for borrowing.
  • LINK+ has faster delivery than traditional Interlibrary Loan. Books are delivered to both Chalon and Doheny campus libraries by courier service.

How do I request LINK+ books?

  • You can request a book using the MSMU Libraries’ online catalog, which connects to the LINK+ catalog. 
  • Library users may also go directly to the LINK+ catalog here.
  • All LINK+ users must have a current library card, free of fines, to use the service.

How long can I borrow LINK+ books?

  • The loan period is 21 days with one renewal. You may renew your books and monitor the status of your requests by clicking My Library Account on the MSMU Libraries’ home page. Log in using your name and library barcode to see if materials have been shipped or received.
  • Overdue LINK+ books are charged at a rate of $1/day and $115 for lost or damaged materials.

Request books from any other library
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) with OCLC - WorldCat

  • Traditional Interlibrary Loan is used for books not available from one of our partner libraries in LINK+. This service must be performed by the ILL coordinator, who will request your book through OCLC Resource Sharing.
  • If you need a book that is not available from a LINK+ library, please fill out the ILL Request Form to request traditional ILL. 
  • Please allow at least two weeks for delivery. Books ordered via traditional ILL are shipped by the USPS using the media mail rate. Please plan for shipping time when doing your research.